Reset Button

Running has become my reset button.

Yesterday sucked. No doubt about that. And, at first, I dealt with it in the wrong way.

With this:

and this:

(well, I didn’t eat all of it)…

Not my best coping techniques. But hey, it could be worse, right? My saving grace here is that they were consumed while I was out with Dianne and Mamito, who both certainly lifted my spirits.

Running, though? Now, that’s a perfect coping technique.

I woke up feeling kind of guilty about last night’s decisions and as though I would prefer to just stay in bed. I’m glad I didn’t, though, because four miles later, I was a brand new person. Hallelujah.

This run felt fan-freaking-tastic. I wasn’t looking at the clock or at my mileage. I wasn’t counting down. I was just running and enjoying those minutes to myself, allowing myself to think thoroughly and rationally about the things that have been dragging me down. Running makes for good “me time.” It allows me to clear my head.

I also realized this morning how very capable I am of running this upcoming 10K. I have felt this whole time like I might be kidding myself – I mean, I run a 12 minute mile!  I realized, though, as I finished my four miles this morning, that I could easily knock out two more. Well, maybe not “easily” – sure, it would tire me out – but I could definitely do it. That’s a long way from where I used to be, friends. A long, long way.

Speaking of 10Ks… I’m signing up for another one! I just found out this morning about a new 10K on Thanksgiving Day. I had been looking for Turkey Day races but didn’t want to travel too far, and this one is super close! Perfect. I’m actually really excited for this one. Perhaps more so than the one coming up in a couple of weeks. I like how low-key it sounds like it’s going to be.

In related but unrelated news, I have a confession: I downloaded Katy Perry’s new CD last night. Even worse? I like it. It was a perfect running soundtrack this morning, which was great because it kept me completely entertained. It also lasted almost exactly the length of my run. I don’t know if that says more about the short length of her CD or the slow speed of my running, but either way – ridiculous!

After the gym this morning, I came back and made a new smoothie! Whaaat??!

Change can be a good thing.

Peachy Keen Smoothie

(that’s my favorite color combination, bee-tee-dubs)

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • 1 peach, peeled & sliced
  • 1/3 frozen banana (just for the creamy factor, not the taste)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tbs nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 scoop Jay Robb’s Vanilla Whey Protein Powder

On top:

  • ~2/3 tbs coconut butter (I can’t say drizzled because it would not drizzle this morning! grr)
  • handful Go Lean Crunch Honey Almond Flax

Yummm.

Somebody take this song away from me.

10K Training Day 25

5 min elliptical warm-up

4 mile run on treadmill @ 5.0 for 48 min + 5 min cool down

Woohoo!

1 Comment

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

One response to “Reset Button

  1. Running in the mornings makes my day too! Or, if I know I have soccer later. That also gives me energy. It seems you’ve passed some milestones….congrats!

Leave a Reply

