Trying to Listen

What is with my hunger level this week? Especially due to my intense activity level every morning, I’m usually hungry all the time.

Today, though, I was too full after lunch to eat my nectarine (one bite and I was done).

And it wasn’t overboard, or anything! Just a veggie burger on one of those Arnold Sandwich Thins I’ve heard about all over the blog world:

…with a Laughing Cow cheese, a little mustard and ketchup, and a smattering of bell pepper slices and snow peas on the side.

(I ❤ colorful meals!)


Lunch was awesome, by the way. As I munched on my bell pepper strips, I said to Lauren, “Why do I ever think fries are a good idea when I know I love fresh veggies so much?” Her reply? “Ummm, because they’re better?” 🙂

Then, I felt full halfway through this:

(The nut butter is my Naturally Nutty Cinnamon Vanilla Sunflower Butter, FYI.)

I don’t usually have any problem at all polishing that off. I mean, really, who gets full halfway through a banana? Wimp.

Weird, right? Especially since I ran four miles this morning, which would normally be more than enough reason for me to be famished. The problem is, I’m such a creature of habit that, despite my lower hunger levels, I’m having trouble planning or even eating appropriately for my recently disappearing hunger. I could – and probably should –  seriously reduce my intake while I’m feeling this way.

On a sort of related note, I’ve actually been considering lowering my activity level while I complete the training for the 10K. This would mean:

  • keeping boot camp M/W/F but only doing 30-45 minutes of cardio afterward rather than an hour (I’ve already king of been doing this)
  • losing strength training T/Th (I started doing this today)
  • spending T/Th only on running (I started doing this today, too)
  • keeping Sat. as a rest day
  • keeping Sun. as a long run day

This would seriously decrease my cardio and my strength training and really force me to focus on the running. Given that I keep lightly pulling muscles, I think my body is trying to tell me that I’m overtraining. So, I’m going to try this for a little bit and see how it goes. The race is only a couple of weeks away, anyway…

Yikes. Slash… !!!

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

2 responses to “Trying to Listen

  1. actorsdiet

    i’m such a 1/2 naner girl. my whole freezer is filled with them – good thing for my dog since i stuff his kong with them!

Leave a Reply

