Blueberry Muffin Smoothie Heaven

My day was just totally made – I’m featured on #fitblog daily today! Not only is this exciting on its own, but I was also really happy about which post was chosen to be featured. I feel that post (Reset Button) really represents who I am and what my blog is about.

Big smile!

In less happy news, though, this made me mad. I never, ever think it’s funny to make fun of girls (or anyone!) for their weight. How completely unacceptable. Plus, this guy isn’t even funny. Lame.

That’s why I love the idea behind Operation Beautiful so much. Thank goodness there’s a community out there trying to counteract the negative effects of so much of the media.

Anyway, I tried my hand a tempeh last night!

That stuff has been sitting in my fridge for…. who knows how long (It’s still good, don’t worry. I checked.). I’ve been totally intimidated by it. I had no idea what to do with it. Plus, after doing a little reading, I felt even more intimidated. It seemed so complicated!

But then I figured, heck, if other bloggers eat it raw (which, by the by, was not for me), it can’t be that hard, right?

So I chopped it up into little blocks, sauteed it in a tablespoon of olive oil and added a tablespoon of worcestershire sauce. Super simple!

I also cooked up some of this stuff on the stovetop. The directions were literally to add a tablespoon of water and stir. Easy enough for me!

I’mย  just going to go ahead and call this… Worcestershire Tempeh and Vegetables.

You know you wish you could come up with names as original as mine.

And it took less than ten minutes from start to finish! That ten minutes even includes my hemming and hawwing and total hesitation. Dare I call this… a ten minute dinner?! I think I shall!

…Seriously, who says shall?

This was good! It was a small bowl of food but I felt totally satisfied. I used about one third of the tempeh block and half of the veggies (that bag of veggies holds “five servings,” but I don’t know who TJ’s thinks they’re kidding).

The tempeh was… interesting. I can’t say I loved the taste, but I found it sort of addicting. I kept wanting more. I enjoyed it even if I didn’t love it. And I still want more. I’m having it for lunch.

I don’t know, your take on my sanity is as good as mine.

I then spent the rest of the evening baking! But I’ll get to that in the next post. ๐Ÿ˜‰

This morning’s boot camp was totally strength-focused, which was just further confirmation for me that I can lay off the strength classes for a while and just count on my boot camp classes to fulfill my strength training needs. This class also left me starrrrving, so my (new! and awesome!) smoothie this morning was more than welcome.

I came up with this smoothie in my head as I did roughly eight thousand squats during class. That’s healthy living blog dedication. That, or it was just my empty stomach talking.

Don’t let the ashy color fool you. This smoothie rocked. One of my new favorites, for sure.

Blueberry Muffin Smoothie


Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • handful fresh baby spinach
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tbs nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1/3 frozen banana
  • ~1/2 cup blueberries
  • 1/2 scoop Jay Robb’s Vanilla Whey Protein Powder
  • 2 dashes cinnamon
  • 1 dash nutmeg

On top:

  • ~1/2 tbs coconut butter (again, not drizzled… more like burned. grr.)
  • handful Shredded Oats ๐Ÿ˜€

Yum and a half. No, really. The cinnamon and nutmeg were sheer genius, if I do say so myself.

Aka… I am a genius. Just in case any of you were slow on the uptake there.

10K Training Day 26

5 minutes elliptical

45 minutes boot camp (strength-heavy!)

35 minutes elliptical (30 min high intensity + 5 min cool down)

It’s Coffee Bean Friiiiiiday! ๐Ÿ˜€

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

2 responses to “Blueberry Muffin Smoothie Heaven

  1. Claire

    Um, what is Tempeh? Everything on your site looks incredible. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

