Running is Taking Over

Okay, seriously? This was awesome. I can’t believe I haven’t talked about this yet.

And now I’m basically just listening to it/ watching it every so often on repeat. I mean, Jorge Garcia was in it! And Joel McHale! What’s not to love?

I wish it were on iTunes.

Anyway, you came here for the food, right?

For dinner last night, I sauteed up an Asian Vegetable Medley (from TJ’s, of course) with some teriyaki tofu (also from TJ’s)…

And it was good, but about three bites in, I realized I just wasn’t really in the mood.

I honestly just wanted ice cream.

Good thing I had just picked up some TJ’s tart frozen yogurt!

I swear, they are not paying me. I just love them. Dearly.

I topped a pretty decently sized bowl of the fro-yo with some carob chips and Barbara’s Shredded Spoonfuls. This was my first time trying this cereal and I am a big fan! It tastes really similar to Life, which used to be one of my favorite cereals.

It wasn’t the most conventional dinner, but it hit the spot… and really, that’s all I cared about at the time.

I broke out the cereal again this morning for breakfast, this time to top a big SIAB!

I’m a big fan of the cereal, but I think I like a heartier cereal atop my SIABs.

This smoothie was very similar to that tropical smoothie I made once upon a time.

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • handful fresh baby spinach
  • 1/2 scoop Vanilla Whey Protein Powder
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tbs nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1/3 frozen banana
  • 1/3 cup frozen pineapple chunks
  • 1/2 cup frozen mango chunks

On top:

  • drizzle warmed coconut butter (~1/2 tbs – I’m almost out!)
  • handful Shredded Spoonfuls

This was a really thick smoothie! In retrospect, with all of the frozen fruit, I probably could have lost the greek yogurt and just added a little more almond milk. But, hey, I had no problem with it being thick – it was like having frozen yogurt for breakfast. No problem with that!

It was also very refreshing to consume after this morning’s 4 mile run. 🙂

Actually, the run was slightly (but really, only slightly) longer than 4 miles, simply because I was into my music and the run and forgot to check how far I’d run. How’s that for a good sign?

Speaking of running, I think I’ve decided to run a half marathon, probably in 2011 so that I can properly train. I think I’ve also decided to run a 10K on my birthday…? Actually, I haven’t decided about the birthday 10K yet. I’m just thinking about it. Thoughts? It sounds like a very cool race. Its a Christmas-themed race and I’d get to run with “Santa!”

I really, really love Christmas.

That would also make for three 10Ks in 2010, given that I’m also signing up for one on Thanksgiving. I think that would make me feel pretty good about myself.

10K Training Day 30

5 minute warm-up on elliptical

4.15 mile run @ 5.0 on treadmill for 50 minutes + 5 minute cool down

I have fun baking plans tonight!

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog Posts

Leave a Reply

