September Means…

September means a lot of things.

As I’ve mentioned, it’s almost fall. And that means pumpkin is in season… starting today.

Obviously, I had to partake.

I made an extra-cinnamonny bowl of overnight oats last night and topped it this morning with nut granola, blueberries, and pumpkin butter.

Perfection. I ate this all the time last fall and having it this morning was an immediate sensory experience. Fall really is coming!

Not that I needed the reminder. September also means, as I’ve mentioned, colder weather. And darker mornings. I woke up freezing this morning! It is also much harder to wake up in the dark than it is with sunlight streaming into the room. Oh, well. I’d better get used to it.

Though I woke up in the dark, I still managed to make it to the gym for boot camp, which was happily back up to high intensity, and for which I was happily back to my own high intensity self. Our lovely fitness instructor kept shouting for us to “make it bigger!” This made me giggle all throughout the class. Silently, don’t worry. To myself.

Speaking of childish things, September means school has started (nice transition, right? I could be a talk show host). This means that there’s traffic in the mornings again (I live very near a school), but, more importantly, it means I get to listen to kids playing in the mornings as I get ready for work (I totally just wrote “school” – wishful thinking?). I like this. A lot.

A very exciting thing September means: my 10K is coming up! I am already proud of myself for being so close.

September is a new month, which means new goals. This month, I’m venturing to relax and to take charge of the things that have been bugging me. I’ve been a little tense lately. A lot of things in my life (behind the scenes of the blog) have been and are changing and, rather than taking a second to breathe and really try to handle them, I’ve just tried some combination of taking them in stride (hasn’t worked) and ignoring them (makes me tenser). Starting now, I’m going to make a sincere effort to reverse this trend.

10K Training Day 31

5 minutes elliptical

45 minutes boot camp

35 minutes elliptical

3 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

3 responses to “September Means…

  1. Will

    Southern California grows pumpkins? Hmm. I don’t think the Northeast likes that.

  2. Mark

    It’s ironic that you’re freezing in southern cali because here in maine some of the school districts have already had to cancel school because it’s been so hot. in MAINE! Mother Nature must be taking some freaky drugs.

    Also, where do you get pumpkin butter?! I’ve never even heard of it before. Is it the same principle as apple butter? Or is it more of a peanut butter/pumpkin love-child?

Leave a Reply

