Comfort Food Makeover

Throughout my childhood, there were two meals my mom would make when it was just a couple of us at home and she just didn’t feel like cooking. One of these meals was Farina. While this was a big hit with my sister, I never really got on the Farina wagon. Therefore, when it was just my mom and me, I always requested the other of the two: scrambled egg pasta.

Basically, you just boil pasta, then, once cooked and drained, scramble eggs (about one per person) and cheese into the pasta, still over the heat, until cooked.

It’s awesome. Seriously. It’s also one of my favorite comfort foods and is one I relate directly to cozy nights at home with my mom as a child.

Over the past few months, I’ve healthified this slightly by using different kinds of whole wheat pasta when I’ve made it for myself on those nights I, myself, just haven’t felt like cooking. Last night, however, I realized a perfect KWH-ification was at my finger tips.

I should note that I used leftovers of a green veggie medley made primarily of green beans, but the recipe I’m posting is for how you’d do it from scratch.

Oh, and by the way… this is a great ten minute dinner!

Scrambled Egg Green Bean “Pasta”

makes one serving

Ingredients:

  • ~1 1/2 cups green beans, rinsed and trimmed
  • 1/2 tbs butter or Earth Balance
  • 2 eggs
  • parmesan & romano to taste (I probably used about 1 tbs)
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

Rinse & trim green beans. Place green beans in a small pot of water (just enough to cover the beans) and bring to a boil. Cook for 3-4 minutes.

Drain green beans and put back on stove. Add butter or Earth Balance and distribute evenly. Sautee the beans for a minute or so, allowing some to brown slightly.

Crack two eggs into a small bowl and mix with a fork, adding the parmesan & romano and the salt & pepper.

Add the egg mixture to the green beans on the stove and mix until evenly scrambled and cooked with the green beans.

You know, I think I actually enjoyed this version more than the pasta version! The crisp juiciness of the green beans really added something to the dish.

1 Comment

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

One response to “Comfort Food Makeover

Leave a Reply

