A Weekend of Fun

It’s been a crazy weekend!

My friends Christin and Dianne make a whole weekend out of their birthdays (which are a day apart), so I’ve been with many of my friends nonstop throughout the weekend.

In fact, the only time I’ve had apart from them was when I went for my long run of the weekend. Unfortunately, it was a pretty crappy run. I had been very excited about doing six miles, but I sadly just didn’t have it in me yesterday. While I had at first been hoping that the rough quality of the first mile was just a matter of getting into a rhythm (I often find the first mile to be my toughest), it just never got better. I struggled throughout the entirety of the run and ended up stopping after five. I think it was mostly a matter of starting my run too late on a hot day. My dehydration and exhaustion were enough to convince me to cut out of it early.

One thing I can say: I believe have figured out how to avoid cramps. After each mile I completed, I gulped down a mixture of coconut water and water (about one part coconut water and two parts water); that seemed to do the trick.

Anyway, I didn’t let the bad run affect my day too much. I just came home and made myself a big and refreshing smoothie so I’d be ready for the big day ahead of me.

Pina Colada Smoothie


Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • 1/2 cup coconut water
  • 1 tbs nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein powder
  • ~1/2 cup frozen mango
  • ~1/3 cup frozen pineapple

On top:

  • drizzle ~1/2 tbs warmed coconut butter
  • handful Go Lean Crunch Honey Almond Flax

Soon after, I headed across LA to spend the day with the girls. We did a whole lot of shopping (and I definitely spent too much) and then came back to their apartment to make dinner and get ready for a big night out.

Some highlights of the party photos:

(It was a hipster bar. We are not hipsters. Therefore, hipster photoshoots are funny. To us.)

Photobomb!

We then took the photoshoot outside in order to take advantage of the bar’s brick wall… but definitely had a hard time keeping straight faces. 😉

There are many, many more… but I’ll spare you.

This morning… or really, this afternoon, we went out to brunch at a place called Nick’s Coffee Shop.

Though I once had a brief love affair with their cornbread pancakes, I craved a brunch on the lighter side after last night’s debauchery. I got two eggs over easy with fruit and whole wheat bread.

Plus a whoooole lot of coffee.

That’s all for now, folks. Hope you’re all having a great long weekend!

Training Day 34

5 mile run outside in 1:02:46 (And, frankly, I’m surprised it wasn’t longer.)

I stretched and iced a lot after that.

Training Day 35

Rest Day

1 Comment

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

One response to “A Weekend of Fun

  1. I LOVE that dress! Love the neckline, the pockets, and that color on you!!

Leave a Reply

