Craving Chocolate

I took yesterday off from training, partially because I had other important things going on and partially because I could just tell my body needed another day off. Both my knees and ankles were feeling rough after Saturday’s run and I am not about to hurt myself before this race. It’s important to listen to your body!

I was back in action this morning, though. I hit the treadmill to run three miles, two for which I increased my usual speed by 0.5 miles/ hour. It’s not much, but it made the run feel like more of a challenge. With the race coming up this Sunday and given my less-than-stellar run this past Saturday, I felt as though I needed, this morning, to do something to both challenge myself and get myself back in the game. It worked. 😉

Oh, and it kicked my butt! I love that, though.

While this isn’t usually the case, I came back from the gym absolutely starving. This can probably be attributed to the fact that the only real meal I ate yesterday was brunch, followed by random snacking throughout the rest of the day.

To satisfy my growling stomach, I made a fantastic raspberry smoothie at home.

I’ve made a very similar smoothie before, but here’s what went into it..

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • handful fresh baby spinach
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein powder
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tbs nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1/3 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup frozen raspberries

On top:

  • “drizzle” (more like “a few clumps”) (~1/2 tbs) coconut butter
  • handful Go Lean Crunch! Honey Almond Flax

I had packed a salad for lunch today, but I then spent the morning craving soup. This is likely because it is gray outside and cooler than usual. So, when I found out that some friends at work were picking up lunch from Panera, I piggy-backed and ordered a bowl of chicken tortilla soup with a multigrain roll.

Sadly, I was underwhelmed. While it tasted good and while I really do love Panera… really? This is hardly a “bowl” of soup (compare it to the size of the bread!), and the bread was kind of burnt. I was unimpressed and would definitely think twice before ordering take-out from them again.

My afternoon snack (which I was more than ready for!) thankfully didn’t disappoint. I was craving chocolate and my stash of Luna Bars came to the rescue.

It tastes almost as decadent as it looks. My only complaint is that it was gone way too soon. 😉

Speaking of chocolate, my favorite chocolate-covered blogger is hosting a giveaway of the new Larabar flavors! Given that I’m kind of dying to try them (and can’t find them anywhere), I’m entering her giveaway… and you should, too!

Oh, and in blogging maintenance news, I’ve updated my blogroll. In looking at it this morning, I realized that I was missing a bunch of blogs that I love and read regularly. Whoops! All fixed now.

10K Training Day 36 (yesterday)

Rest Day

10K Training Day 37

5 minutes elliptical warm-up

3 miles on treadmill (1 mi @ 5.0 & 2 mi @ 5.5) in 34 min + 5 min cooldown

35 minutes elliptical (30 min high intensity + 5 min cooldown)

1 Comment

Filed under Blog Posts

One response to “Craving Chocolate

  1. Yeah Panera is lame like that. I haven’t eaten there in awhile, but I seem to remember the price of the bowl being pretty disproportionate to the size of the soup. Right?

Leave a Reply

