Labor Day Brunch

Yesterday, Labor Day, was the final day of the birthday weekend celebrations and was also the day of a sad goodbye (for now). It was also a day of only one formal meal. Fortunately, that formal meal was both fun to make and really yummy.

After having what was essentially a slumber party all weekend (yes, I know I’m in my twenties), the girls and I woke up yesterday to make brunch for ourselves and a few guests. On the menu were an egg hash souffle, bacon, waffles, and fruit salad.

All were delicious. My contribution to the event was the fruit salad.

Not that you really need a recipe for fruit salad, but, well, here you go.

Labor Day Fruit Salad

makes about eight servings

Ingredients:

  • 2 nectarines
  • 2 peaches
  • 2 pears
  • 2 cups grapes (I used 1 cup green & 1 cup red)
  • ~2 tbs lemon juice

Directions:

Chop the nectarines, peaches & pears into bite-sized pieces. Add the grapes. Mix with lemon juice and serve.

The purpose of the lemon juice, for those of you who don’t know, is to slow the process of/ prevent the browning of the fruit.

It was an easy, fresh and light addition to the morning.

Christin, our southern belle, took over the waffle-making.

They turned out perfectly.

Dianne fried up some bacon.

And Lindsey, ever the chef, made the egg hash souffle.

Now, I’m not entirely sure of everything that went into this, but I can tell you that it had potato hash, eggs, shredded cheddar cheese, red peppers, zucchini, onions, tomatoes, white mushrooms, spinach, and a bunch of spices. I’m sure there were other ingredients, but those are the ones I remember seeing in the crazy kitchen.

It was really good.

My plates (I ate in phases):

Atop that waffle, along with a little butter, is cinnamon maple syrup. This flavor combination concept was new to me, and let me tell you – it made that waffle.

The best part was when Mamito and I realized that we could make fruit pizza out of the waffles by topping them with the fruit.

A lovely end to the holiday weekend!

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

Leave a Reply

