Homemade Granola Bars

Okay. I’m not saying this lightly.

This is the best recipe I have posted on the blog to date. Not only that… it’s one of the best recipes I’ve ever come up with. And it’s full of ingredients that are good for your body and your soul.

I know.

Homemade Granola Bars

makes 12 bars

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups oats
  • 1 cup oat flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup almond butter
  • 1 cup dried fruit (I used a combination of strawberries, blueberries and cherries)
  • 1 cup nuts (I used walnuts)
  • 2/3 – 3/4 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.

Spray a 9×12 pan with nonstick baking spray.

Cream honey, butter and vanilla.

Add almond butter and cream again. (This would be a good time to put away the electric mixer.)

Add oats, oat flour, salt and brown sugar. Mix (preferably with a wooden spoon) until thoroughly combined.

Add dried fruit, chocolate chips and nuts. Mix again until evenly distributed.

Press the mixture into the pan, spreading it out evenly to the edges.

Bake for 25 minutes.

Let cool on counter for about 30 minutes, then cut into 12 bars but do not remove from pan. Cool in refrigerator for a few hours.

Once cooled, re-slice and remove bars from pan. Keep in an airtight container or wrap individually in plastic wrap.

These make for a perfect afternoon snack. The whole grain carbohydrates will give you energy, the healthy fats will keep you full until dinner, and they will satisfy your sweet tooth without packing even a morsel of refined white sugar or any ingredients you couldn’t pronounce. All whole foods.

(Note: pay attention to the ingredient lists on items like almond butter, dried fruit and chocolate chips. Find versions of those items that don’t have scary ingredient lists! They do exist – they’re the ones I use.)

Use walnuts as your nuts, as I did, and you’ve got some solid omega-3 fats.

And, hey, you can even use dark chocolate chips and boast about the antioxidants.

Last, but certainly not least: they’re incredibly easy to make.

They were taste-tested by my co-workers and got fantastic reviews. To be honest, though, I am my own toughest critic in the kitchen – and I think they’re awesome.

I’m not going to lie. I’m really proud of these guys.

You’re welcome. 😉

Updated 9/14: I’ve added this to Simply Sugar and Gluten Free‘s Slightly Indulgent Tuesday. Check it out for other great recipes!

28 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

28 responses to “Homemade Granola Bars

  1. K-Jax

    Mmm! I’m going to have to try this out!

  2. Mark

    The best part about this recipe is that you individually wrapped them! If you wanted to make these as a welcome to the apartment present I wouldn’t be furious. I probably wouldn’t even be annoyed.

  3. I love granola bars too. These sound really good.

    I have been buying a healthier version of granola bars in the health food section of our grocery store. But I would really like to make them myself so that I know exactly what’s in them and so that they are not so expensive.

    Thanks for the recipe!

    • Laurie, these can have a few expensive ingredients (dried fruits and nuts can add up sometimes), so in the interest of keeping things inexpensive, I definitely suggest buying in bulk! If you try them, let me know how they go!

  4. These would be great to pack in a lunch – and if they are your all time favorite, I am going to have to give them a try!

  5. Pingback: Pear Cobbler in the Morning « Kaitlin With Honey

  6. I’m both a honey lover and a crunchy granola lover, so these look and sound perfect! 🙂

    Shirley

  7. hillary

    I think I’ll try this one out! How long would you say that these will keep? i noticed you said they went bad on you in another entry. Also, should I keep them in the frig?

  8. Pingback: Some Friday Fun « Kaitlin With Honey

  9. Rachel

    we are having a series of parenting classes in our preschool and i am going to present easy and healthy snacks for your child’s lunch box. This is definitely going to be one of them. thanks for sharing this recipe. i am planing on making it tomorrow. can i substitute the oat flour?

    • That’s fantastic, and I’m flattered! You can absolutely substitute, probably with just about any flour. To keep it as healthy as possible, I’d suggest whole wheat flour. If you’d rather use whatever is on hand, I’m sure all-purpose flour would work very well. Good luck!

  10. I just wanted you to know that I just made your bars today and they are delicious, I used figs and almonds and omitted the chocolate (because I did not have any around). Good job!

    – Lauren

    • I made them too Lauren (because you tried it first, and it worked for you!) I had to use half reg PB, I didnt have a lot of Almond Butter left. I also used reg flour and raisins, cranberries, walnuts and choc chips! Sooo yummy!!

  11. Hilary

    Thanks for the recipe! These look awesome. I’m going to make them tonight and take them over to my brother and sister-in-law’s house tomorrow as a little gift. They’re all about whole foods and finding great recipes to replace packaged foods that often have crazy ingredients. I can’t wait to try them!

  12. Pingback: Giveaway Time (And a Tribute to Oats) | Kaitlin With Honey

  13. Pingback: ABC’s | Kaitlin With Honey

  14. Pingback: Slightly Indulgent Tuesday; 9/14/10 : Simply Sugar & Gluten-Free

  15. Pingback: CNC Blog Bake Sale

  16. Pingback: Snack Time | Kaitlin With Honey

  17. Pingback: CNC Bake Sale: Current Bids

  18. Pingback: I’m Boring | Kaitlin With Honey

  19. Pingback: The Big Announcement | Kaitlin With Honey

  20. Pingback: My Seven Links | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

