Mocha Coconut “Frapp”

I am on a roll lately.

This morning’s smoothie just might be my best to date.

At first, I couldn’t tell if I thought it was more reminiscent of chocolate ice cream or Starbucks’ Mocha Coconut Frappucino. Remember those? Those, my junior year in high school, are solely responsible for my introduction and subsequent addiction to coffee. Those damn AP exams… they took over my life and my sleep schedule, and suddenly coffee became a necessity. I eased myself in with those Frapps.

I decided halfway in that this was most definitely a Mocha Coconut Frapp.

So here’s the KWH healthification. 😉

By the way, it’s only the addition of the coconut butter on top that adds the coconut flavor. If you want to get crazy (which I always encourage, of course), add about 1 teaspoon of coconut extract to your smoothie.

Also, if you want it to actually be as sweet as a Frapp, add a half a packet or a packet (to your taste) of Stevia. I didn’t want it to be that sweet, though, so I didn’t add any Stevia at all.

Mocha Coconut “Frapp” Smoothie


Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • handful fresh baby spinach
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tbs nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 2/3 frozen banana
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein powder
  • 1 packet (or one serving) instant coffee
  • 1 tbs unsweetened cocoa

On top:

  • ~2/3 tbs warmed coconut butter
  • handful Go Lean Crunch! Honey Almond Flax

This, my friends, was rich. Perfect for a chocolate craving.

When I come up with recipes like this, it’s hard to think of any good excuses for going out and getting the sugary stuff.

You know what I mean?

This SIAB was the perfect treat after this morning’s workout, too. I’d just come back from boot camp and a stint on the elliptical, and I was feeling it!

Sadly, this morning’s workout was a little bit unnerving. I kept feeling pain in my left knee. Usually, I’ll feel the pain for a couple of minutes and find that it disappears as I warm up. Today, though, it didn’t really go away. I iced it for about five minutes (all I had to spare) when I came home and I’m hoping that will be enough? As of right now, I’m also planning on keeping it light for tomorrow’s workout.

I’m going to be really, really upset if I’m not in top form on Sunday. Send me good (and healing) vibes, okay? Please?

10K Training Day 38

5 minutes elliptical (warmup)

45 minutes bootcamp (heavy on the strength training)

35 minutes elliptical (30 min high intensity + 5 min cooldown)

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

Leave a Reply

