Final 10K Training Run

I had the best run this morning. Seriously. I felt fast, strong, capable and happy throughout the entire thing.

Just yesterday, I was telling my friend Michelle that given the three choices of running on a treadmill, running on a track, or running on streets/ sidewalks, I would go in that order of preference.

What?! What was that crazy talk?!

(By the way, I’m not including trail running because I absolutely guarantee that I would fall and twist my ankle. I’m just not willing to try.)

I was saying how I usually have to work myself up and convince myself to run outside on streets because I get intimidated by hills and having to look out for traffic. I realized this morning, however, how completely stupid that is. Obviously, I love running on streets.

Duh.

So… we can just back that order up and straight up reverse it. Pure ridiculousness.

That’s a word, right?

Running outside makes you more aware – of how beautiful your neighborhood can be, of how pretty the sky looks when the sun is rising, of how nice the cool air feels on your skin, of the people around you, of how awesomely awkward kids are, of how nice elderly people tend to be when they’re on their morning walks, of how amazing music can be, of how thoughtful the lyrics in your music are (…and just how wrong you’ve had them when belting them out in your car…), of what even just a slight incline does to your pace, of how your feet land on different surfaces, of your own breathing pattern… I could go on and on.

Everything about my run was perfect this morning.

I had set out to run the two miles that were on my training schedule and nothing else. But then, two miles became 2.5 and 2.5 became 3…  and finally I decided to make it a solid 5K but not go any further. After all, I’d venture to say over-training is possibly more dangerous than under-training.

After my rough run last Saturday and a so-so treadmill run on Tuesday, I really needed a good run today. I had I told myself over and over that it wouldn’t matter if today’s run was bad as well, as I didn’t want to stress myself out… but really, I needed it to be great. And it was!

I now feel so prepared and excited for the 10K on Sunday. I know I’m going to be one of the slowest people there, but honestly, I couldn’t care less. I know I am completely capable of finishing that race and of feeling great afterward.

I came home and made…. wait for it…. a smoothie!

Surprise! Okay, not really. Not at all.

But hey, it’s a new one!

Strawberry Mango Smoothie

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein powder
  • handful fresh baby spinach
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1 tbs nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1/3 frozen banana
  • 1/4 cup frozen mango
  • 5 fresh strawberries

On top:

  • ~2/3 tbs warmed coconut butter (It’s almost gone! OOIACBJ?! You’ll work that out.)
  • handful Go Lean Crunch! Honey Almond Flax (I think this is my favorite cereal to top SIABs… maybe?)

By the way, lunch and dinner yesterday were both versions of takeout (a Trader Joe’s salad for lunch and Pad Thai (actual takeout) for dinner, so no need to post those… but I do feel a need to post my snack.

One of my homemade granola bars, which very quickly went in this progression!

And don’t you get the wrong idea… I ate those crumbs! 😉

10K Training Day 39

.25 mile walking warmup

3.1 miles in 35:41 (which means my pace increased a teensy bit!)

.5 mile walking cooldown (I really only needed .25, but I felt like walking a little bit more)

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

4 responses to “Final 10K Training Run

  1. Jenni

    Although I hear what you are saying, I am completely a gym girl. I like the AC and the occasional eye candy to keep me motivated. Plus I often work out late, not that my area is really scary or anything but i don’t know if I would want to run after 10 out there.

  2. I agree with you…outdoors all the way! When it’s light out, I like to run trails (my absolute fave) but after that, streets and track tie for second (depending on my mood) and absolutely last is the DREADmill. UGH.

    Congrats on a great run and good luck this weekend! Can’t wait to hear your awesome results!

  3. looks like you had a great run Kaitlin! I can’t wait until I can run again.

    I love the SIAB! I need to make one again asap.

Leave a Reply

