Busy, Busy Day

I had a dream last night that I couldn’t finish the 10K.

The dream was essentially that the race was comprised mostly of obstacle courses, with running in between. It was going okay until I got to an obstacle I couldn’t complete. It was essentially one of those carnival games, where I had to throw a stuffed animal and get it in a hole… and I couldn’t do it! Meanwhile, I watched everyone else running by me (I guess they didn’t have to complete that part of the course?), while I was still unable to throw the stuffed animal correctly. Finally, I got it, and then by the time I reached the next obstacle, they’d closed it down because they thought everyone was done. So, I didn’t even get to finish the race.

That’s normal, right?

Anyway, today was crazy busy.

There was a little of this…

And a little of this…

(That’s a spinach, feta and roasted tomato egg white wrap and a double tall soy one-pump Pumpkin Spice Latte – the first of the season!Ā  For the record, this is not a bandwagon I’ve jumped on. I have had a long, long love affair with the PSL.)

I then headed across LA to have a friend date with Claire, then went to Santa Monica to pick up my race bib and goody bag!

Here’s what I got in the goody bag:

I’m actually kind of excited about the shot blocks. I’ve never had them before and I think that when I start doing longer runs, they’ll be good for me.

I then headed to Downtown Disney to meet Mama Pea and some other bloggers. šŸ™‚

We met at a blogger favorite:

Once we all had our smoothies, we headed inside a hotel lobby to chat and get to know each other.

I not only got to meet Sarah of Peas and Thank You, but also Monica of Run, Eat Repeat – two of my favorite bloggers in one day! Plus, I got to meet some new-to-me bloggers, and they were all so nice and so much fun.

That’s Marlon, me, Andrew and Amanda, Monica, Sarah, Gigi and Lulu. šŸ™‚

I came home starving and made myself a pizza inspired by Meghann of the newly renamed Meals and Miles!

I used a piece of frozen naan and topped it with pear slices, brie, spinach and a drizzle of honey. I heated it in the oven at 400 degrees for about eight minutes and it was awesome. The spinach was a mistake, but the rest was fantastic. šŸ™‚

And now… it’s bedtime. I have a 10K in the morning!!!

Oh, and to the person who found my blog by searching “I run a 12 minute mile”… You made my day. Seriously.

9 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

9 responses to “Busy, Busy Day

  1. You’re going to do great in your race tomorrow! It was a pleasure to meet you today. We’ll have to have another SoCal blogger meet up again soon.
    Oh, btw, can I use your photo of Jamba Juice? I forgot to take a picture–rookie mistake. I guess I was too excited about meeting other bloggers in person.

  2. Great to meet you. Good luck on the race! We need to plan one together for fun šŸ™‚

  3. first off, i hope the race went well this morning! so exciting! 10ks are the best!

    and i’m so excited to have found your blog. finding other oc bloggers is rare! thank goodness for hlb right!?

    • Hey Melissa! It’s so great to have found your blog, as well! I’m not in OC (anymore), I’m in LA… but hey, we’re not far! Where in OC are you? We should get together for a SoCal blogger meetup!

  4. Can’t wait to read how the 10k goes. The farthest I’ve ever run is 5 miles so I love reading about longer distances and dreaming about the day when I will run one!

    I’m glad we met yesterday! šŸ™‚

  5. It was lovely meeting you yesterday. We will have to do more in the future. Always nice meeting new folks that share blogging as an interest! Good luck with the 10K!

  6. Pingback: Pear Cobbler in the Morning « Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

