Recommitted

During my 10K training, I became a little bit lax about healthy eating. Now, that’s not to say that I wasn’t eating healthfully or that I think I (or anyone) need to be stringent about eating perfectly (in fact, I believe the exact opposite). However, I not only attended a lot of events during which I let healthy eating go entirely, but I also let myself really give into quite a few cravings because of my new running regimen.

This was my first “big” race and I wanted to make sure I fueled appropriately. I found that, along with the increasing factor of my training schedule, I also found an increase in my cravings for both carbohydrates and salt. I gave into these cravings quite often, which I think was good but also maybe became a little bit of an excuse.

By that I mean… sometimes I think I just wanted some goldfish. 😉

Anyway, I have no problem with that. It happened, I was still figuring things out, and I think everything is a learning process. However, the 10K is done and I think I now have a better sense of what my body needs as fuel while I’m training. So, with the completion of 10K #1, I’ve decided to recommit to clean eating.

That hardly means I won’t keep my mindset about balance. It just means that I want to cut back a little bit on all the bread and chips, etc and bring more fruits and veggies back into my diet. 🙂

I started it off pretty well this morning with what I thought was a completely inspired smoothie but just ended up being kind of… meh. I mean, if you love pumpkin, you might like this… but I love pumpkin and I didn’t.

Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • handful fresh baby spinach
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein powder
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tbs nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1/3 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup canned, unsweetened pumpkin
  • 1/2 packet Stevia
  • a few generous dashes of pumpkin pie spice

On top:

  • ~2/3 tbs warmed coconut butter (which I hadn’t planned on – didn’t think it’d mix well – but then I just couldn’t part with it)
  • handful Go Lean Crunch! Honey Almond Flax (I actually added more after the picture was taken… which should tell you that this smoothie just wasn’t cutting it)

I mean, don’t get me wrong. It was good! It’s just that usually, my SIABs totally knock my socks off and I could have taken or left this one.

But I still ate it.

And, even though it’s kind of an ugly shade of green, doesn’t that totally just look like fall in a bowl? I suppose the setting helps… But fall in a bowl! Kind of like my last pumpkin breakfast. Which was way better. Okay, okay, I’ll stop beating up on the smoothie.

It tried to impress me. It really did.

Anyway, something that did impress me (and also made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside) was that a friend of mine at work made my homemade granola bars this weekend! She brought one in for a snack today and to show me. I was so flattered.

Doesn’t it look great? She made a few substitutions: she used natural peanut butter instead of almond butter, regular flour instead of oat flour, didn’t add nuts, and used only Craisins as dried fruit. Oh, and I think she also used milk chocolate chips. I was able to suss this out because she let me taste it. 🙂

It was wonderful! Moments like this remind me of how awesome blogging can be… not that I need any reminders, after the past few days I’ve had. Between the Woman’s Day feature, the SoCal blogger meetup and the 10K, I’m feeling pretty awesome about things.

Oh, and something else that impressed me: my lunch. It was inspired by Julie of Peanut Butter Fingers, who suggested broccoli slaw as a great alternative to lettuce in salads for lettuce-haters like myself.

I loved it! Big thumbs up. Along with said broccoli slaw, I had grape tomatoes, chicken (the pre-grilled kind from Trader Joe’s) cucumber and goddess dressing.

I was also kind of (lamely) excited by my post-lunch apple.

One of the many reasons I love fall is that apples just get that much better during this season!

I forgot to mention that I worked out this morning. I hadn’t originally planned to do so, but I decided that, after a very sedentary day after the race yesterday, I wanted to get my body moving this morning. Plus, I had to see if Fake Jake was there.

He wasn’t. Cross your fingers for Wednesday.

Anyway, given how sore I’m feeling today, I will definitely be taking tomorrow off.

Monday Workout

5 minutes elliptical warmup

45 minutes boot camp

35 minutes elliptical (30 min high intensity + 5 min cool down)

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

Leave a Reply

