Chickpea Curry Stir-fry

I set out with the intention of making stuffed peppers last night, but somewhere along the way I decided that a stir-fry would just be so much easier. I also set out with one recipe in mind and then ended up adding about a thousand other ingredients in my search for the perfect Indian cuisine taste.

Chickpea Curry Stir-fy


makes 4 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup dry rice (I suggest brown rice, but I used white basmati)
  • 2 1/2 cups water
  • 2 tbs coconut oil
  • 1/2 onion
  • 4 carrots
  • 2 red peppers
  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 4 tsp curry
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 squirts honey
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • dashes ground cloves (to taste)
  • dashes ground ginger (to taste)
  • dashes garlic powder (to taste)

Directions:

Cook rice (with water) in rice cooker for about 20 minutes.

Heat a large skillet on medium and add coconut oil, allowing to melt if necessary.

Dice onions and saute. Peel and chop carrots and dice peppers into small pieces and add to pan.

Drain and rinse chickpeas and add to pan, stirring every so often.

Add all other ingredients and stir.

At around this time, your rice should be cooked. Add the rice to the pan and combine completely, allowing the flavors to mix together.

Serve and enjoy!

I will admit that, while it was great, I still think it’s missing something. If any of you notice an obvious ingredient that I didn’t include, please let me know!

Updated 9/16/10: I’ve added this to The Nourishing Gourmet’s Pennywise Platter Thursday. Check it out for other great recipes!

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

2 responses to “Chickpea Curry Stir-fry

  1. avery

    Maybe tumeric? It might already be in the curry, but I like the taste is added to indian food! Looks yummy, I’m gonna try this soon!

Leave a Reply

