More Pumpkin

I got really excited about my breakfast this morning.

Oh, and it involved pumpkin.

Again.

I’m having a bit of a love affair with pumpkin at the moment.

Really, I had a bit of a love affair with my breakfast this morning. I had POOIAJ. That was, originally, the title of this post… but that sounded kind of gross. You know, as a title.

Spelled out: Pumpkin Overnight Oats in a Jar. But, c’mon, you should know that by now.

Because it was slightly different from last time I made Pumpkin Overnight Oats

Into the mix went:

(last night)

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup canned, unsweetened pumpkin
  • 1/4 cup nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 dashes cinnamon
  • 1 packet stevia
  • ~1 tbs blueberry flaxseed

On top:

(this morning)

  • almond butter (well, really, this was on the bottom…and on the sides… and wasn’t added this morning)
  • honeydew melon (~1/3 cup)
  • blueberries (~1/4 cup)

I wasn’t kidding. I told you I was having a love affair with pumpkin. And my breakfast.

Proof that pumpkin and I are getting serious: when I just wrote “pumpkin,” above, I first – accidentally – wrote “my pumpkin.”

Also, I got strange looks from my neighbors as I was taking these pictures… Perhaps even slightly fearful looks?

Impressive, right? I cleaned that jar out.

Anyway, this breakfast was even better because it was consumed after a beautiful run.

By the way, I am officially addicted to running. I actually fell asleep last night thinking, “Only a few more hours until I get to run!”

Seriously, who thinks like that? At least it’s a healthy addiction, though… right?

I had mapped out four miles yesterday for today’s run, but when I came to the last leg of my run this morning and saw a hill significant enough to intimidate me, I turned around and figured I’d wing it. So, I looped back on a part of my run and hoped I would at least reach about 3.75 miles. Happily, I actually ended up reaching 4.14!

I’ll try that hill some other day. Just not on a day when my hamstrings are still aching from the previous day’s dead lifts.

Thursday Morning Workout

4.14 miles in 48:44, evening out to a pace of about 11:45

I am very happy that my pace is gradually quickening! While that’s slower than my overall 10K pace, I would also argue that today’s is more important because it was consistent. I don’t know yet what my goal time will be for the 10K in November, but I do know now that I will most certainly be aiming for a specific time for this next race.

12 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

12 responses to “More Pumpkin

  1. “my pumpkin”? ha! Love it! I also find it fantastic that you used an “empty” jar of almond butter as your bowl this morning. What a creative way to get use of all the extra deliciousness that normally just gets tossed.

    Congrats on the running addiction! It is truly the best….don’t you now feel as though you’re part of an elite club with a super secret?

    • I absolutely, 100% do. And it’s awesome!

      Also, I should say that I am hardly the first person to do that with a nut butter jar. It’s a concept I simply borrowed from the rest of the healthy living blog world!

  2. Hey Kaitlin! Just wanted to let you know that it took me a good year to improve from a 12 min mile pace (which definitely ISN”T slow). I still haven’t improved much but it will come with time, as you experienced today 🙂

  3. Oh, all this pumpkin makes me want to go to the store and stock on the canned stuff. I don’t look forward to fall because it means rain and dark days here in Oregon, but I do get excited about all the delicious pumpkin foods. I’ll have to remember to pick some up next time at the store. I can’t wait!

  4. Yum! Pumpkin! I need to try OO’s with pumpkin soon.

  5. I LOVE running addiction… I am currently getting back into running after a long hiatus from two big injuries… and I cannot wait to feel that high again!

    🙂

    I always wonder what people think of me, when they see me taking photos of food and things outside at my house 😉

  6. I just found you through Gina’s blog.

    Great run! I recently said “goodbye” to running for a while, I need to do the exercises that I enjoy! But I’ll be back with running soon, I just know it.

    And I get odd looks from my neighbors too when I take pics outside. 🙂 “Why is Holly taking a picture of a PB jar outside on the deck?” hahaha

Leave a Reply

