Pumpkin Walnut Lentil Burgers

I went home last night knowing I wanted to make something with lentils, but I didn’t really have any plans beyond that. So, I stood in my kitchen with both my cabinet and fridge open (what a waste of energy!), staring until inspiration hit me.

Why not use my new favorite ingredient?

Pumpkin!

I was on the phone with Will at the time. When I told him my plan, he said, “That sounds disgusting.”

He was wrong. Duh.

The taste of these burgers is phenomenal. It was honestly kind of hard to stop eating the burger batter (okay, that sounds kind of gross, but work with me here). The burgers don’t hold together quite as well as I hoped they would, but honestly, the taste is beyond worth it. Plus, I think I might have just flipped mine too early.

Pumpkin Walnut Lentil Burgers

makes two burgers

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cooked (pre-spiced/ flavored – I used TJ’s) lentils
  • 1/3 cup canned, unsweetened pumpkin
  • 1/8 cup bread crumbs
  • handful (~1/8 cup) walnuts
  • 2 dashes cumin
  • dash nutmeg
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

Spray a pan with cooking spray and put on medium heat.

Throw all ingredients into a food processor and pulse, stopping every few seconds to scrape the sides, until combined but not completely mushy.

Scrape burger batter out of food processor and use hands to form into two patties.

Place burgers in pan and allow the bottoms to the patties to brown before flipping, or they’ll fall apart.

Flip a few times until browned evenly on both sides and heated through.

Serve and enjoy!

So, so good. I’m a genius. No, really.

And modest, too.

My picture from dinner last night is pretty ugly, but… oh, well. I served one of the burgers with a microwaved Green Giant vegetable medley.

I love all things fall. 🙂

Updated 9/23: I’ve added this to The Nourishing Gourmet‘s Pennywise Platter Thursdays. Check it out for other great recipes!

Updated 10/5: I’ve also added this to Simply Sugar & Gluten Free‘s Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays. Check it out for other great recipes!

5 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

5 responses to “Pumpkin Walnut Lentil Burgers

  1. Will

    You know what tastes good with pumpkin?

    A bowl of my foot up your ass stew.

  2. um, sign me up! these sound amazing!

  3. Nic

    I’ll have one burger, hold the stew 🙂 Thanks for sharing. I’m going to have to try this soon!

Leave a Reply

