One Hundred and Thirteen

It is 113 degrees out today in LA.

One. Hundred. And. Thirteen. Degrees.

Is that insane or what?

When my day started at 5:30am, it was already 71 degrees. That’s when I knew it was going to be a scorcher.

I had a doctor’s appointment at 9am this morning, so I was at the gym by 5:45 in order to ensure a full workout. I hit the elliptical for 35 minutes and followed it with the regular 45-minute boot camp. I needed a head-clearing, butt-kicking workout this morning, and – thank goodness – the instructor delivered. We did another CrossFit-inspired workout. When I left, I was pretty much dripping in sweat – and that had nothing to do with the heat outside. The gym is air-conditioned!

I went home, showered, and quickly hit the road for my doctor’s appointment. The appointment was happily uneventful. I was pretty excited, once I got to work, to dig into the breakfast I had prepared yesterday. I got crazy with the overnight oat mixture last night!

Pumpkin-Apple Overnight Oats (in a jar)

Into the jar (last night) went:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 2 tbs nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • ~1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 tbs unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 tbs unsweetened, canned pumpkin
  • 1 packet stevia
  • 2 dashes pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tbs ground flaxseed

On top (this morning):

  • 1 tbs pumpkin butter
  • handful mixed frozen berries
  • ~1 tbs almond butter (not really on top, but you know what I mean)

Lunch was something I randomly threw together last night and is also something of which am particularly proud. You know you’re getting pretty decent in the kitchen when you can create recipes off the top of your head that end up being keepers. This is one of those recipes.

Oh, and the best part of this chicken salad? It’s mayo-free! I hate mayo, so that helps both my body and my taste-buds.

Autumn Chicken Salad


makes two servings

  • ~ 1 1/2 cups diced, plain, cooked chicken (I used TJ’s “Just Chicken” because I really hate dealing with raw chicken and I’m willing to dish out the extra money in order to avoid it)
  • 1/8 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened raisins
  • 1 large apple, diced (I used a honey crisp and it was fantastic)
  • 2 tbs nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1 tbs plain yellow mustard
  • 1 tbs honey
  • 1/2 tbs apple cider vinegar (I think you could use up to 1 tbs and still be happy)
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions

Dice chicken and apples and put in a bowl. Add in raisins and almonds.

Add yogurt, mustard, honey, vinegar, salt and pepper.

Toss.

Easiest chicken salad ever.

I served it for lunch today over a bed of spinach.

It was delicious.

Dessert was four at-the-end-of-their-prime strawberries + 2 dark chocolate adora disks.

I can’t decide if I’m going to bake tonight or if I’m going to curl up in bed with a glass of wine. Baking sounds nice, but on a 113 degree day, a cold glass of white wine might sound nicer.

Updated 9/30/10: I’ve added this to The Nourishing Gourmet’s Pennywise Platter Thursday. Check it out for other great recipes!

1 Comment

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

One response to “One Hundred and Thirteen

  1. Pingback: Busy, Busy Day « Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

