Blackbird, Fly

All day yesterday, I could not stop listening to “Blackbird.”

I moved onto other Beatles songs for a while, thinking variety would be good for me, but I keep coming back to “Blackbird.” It says home to me, and home is the only place in the world I want to be lately.

My dad plays guitar. He’s really very good, especially when he actually sits down and warms up into it. One of my favorite things about being home is that, at any given time during the day, it’s fair game that you might hear guitar strums coming from the family room. All too often, almost without fail, the first chords of “Blackbird” will be heard. It’s my dad’s go-to song.

I would give anything to be home, curled up on the sofa in the family room, listening to my dad play guitar, chiming in by singing along once he moves in on “Penny Lane.”

It’s really hard, sometimes, to be 3000 miles away from my family.

And so, what did I do with an evening to myself, when I didn’t want to be alone with my thoughts and wanted to feel like I’m at home?

I baked.

I missed my sister last night so much that it hurt and, as a result, I wanted to bake her specialty. So, blogworld, I bring you… my sister’s famous blondies. I don’t know where the recipe came from. I don’t know when it started to be a regular recipe in our house, or when it started to become “Sam’s.” All I know is that it’s the blondie recipe we’ve been making for years and that nobody makes them better than Sam does.

No doubt, my batch wouldn’t even compare to one she could make. And, if my brother were out here in California to taste them, he’d make sure I knew that. It’s a running joke in our family. 😉

No KWH-ifying this time. I wanted them to taste just like home.

Sam’s Famous Blondies


makes 9 bars

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup unsifted all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 8 tbs unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 extra large egg
  • 1 extra large egg yolk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/3 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/3 cup butterscotch chips
  • 2 tbs unsifted all-purpose flour (to be used separately from the flour above)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Grease a 9×9 baking pan.

Thoroughly mix the 3/4 cup of flour and all of the baking powder and salt in a bowl.

Toss the chocolate and butterscotch chips with the separate 2 tbs of flour. Set aside.

Whisk together the butter, brown sugar, granulated sugar, egg yolk and vanilla in a bowl.  Pour the wet mixture over the dry mixture. Add chips. Stir to form a batter.

Pour and scrape the batter into the pan. Spread evenly.

Bake for 25 minutes or until just set.

Cool and cut.

Butter and sugar make things better. In moderation, of course.

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

2 responses to “Blackbird, Fly

  1. Hi There, I am putting together an LA HLB bloggies meet-up for a 1:00 p.m. lunch on Saturday, October 23.

    If you are interested in joining us please email me at yellowbrickbeauty@gmail.com and let me know.

    Thanks!

  2. Pingback: Snapshots of Home | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

