Garlic!

I almost didn’t go on a run this morning. Well, I almost didn’t run outside and thus almost took it to the gym. However, when I weighed the 80 degree heat at 6:30am due to yesterday’s 113 degree day against the thought of running on a treadmill, I decided I could handle a little heat.

My, how things have changed!

I ran my favorite 4.14 mile loop in 49:02, which gives me a pace of 11:52. Definitely not my fastest, but I wasn’t really going for speed this morning. I just needed a good, head-clearing run. Plus, it was hot!

I came back craving a smoothie like no other, so I whipped up a honeydew smoothie.


Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • handful fresh baby spinach
  • 1 tbs nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • ~1 cup honeydew melon
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein powder

On top:

  • ~2/3 tbs warmed coconut butter
  • handful Go Lean Crunch! Honey Almond Flax

It was so frothy! It also had far more of a liquid texture than usual, so even though it was about the same size as usual, my SIAB this morning seemed huge because it took forever to eat.

Nonetheless, I was hungry at lunchtime. Today is the first day I’ve been actually hungry in a few days, so the feeling was actually pretty welcome. I had leftovers from dinner last night: roasted broccoli and potatoes sprayed with olive oil, sprinkled with sea salt, ground pepper and garlic powder, roasted for 25 minutes at 400 degrees and topped with chicken and parmesan & romano.

I didn’t photograph last night’s dinner (total lie; I just think the pictures are ugly), so I’ll just show you lunch leftovers since it’s the same thing.

Natural sunlight > flash at night. Way.

Dessert was a perfect honey crisp apple and, a few hours later, I noshed on some carrots and hummus.

I feel bad for people that are forced to talk to me for the rest of the day. I could probably kill vampires with my breath, given how much garlic I’ve eaten today.

I forgot to do this for the last few days, so…

Saturday Morning Workout:

3 mile run @ 5.5 mph

30 minutes elliptical trainer

25 minutes stationary bike

Sunday Morning Workout:

Rest Day!

Monday Morning Workout:

35 minutes elliptical trainer (30 min. high intensity + 5 min cool down)

45 minutes boot camp

Tuesday Morning Workout:

4.14 mile run in 49:02 with an average 11:52 pace

1 Comment

Filed under Blog Posts

One response to “Garlic!

Leave a Reply

