My Take

At this point in the healthy living blogosphere, there’s not much left to be said in response to this horribly offensive and frankly slanted article in Marie Claire, a magazine littered with photo-shopped pictures of emaciated models.

If you haven’t yet read it, you’ll want to, in order to understand the context of this post.

Yes, there’s a focus on food and fitness in our blogging community that some people might find “obsessive.” I can see that. After all, most of us blog daily – some of us multiple times a day – about our healthy living experiences. But – really – isn’t the point of a blog to be immediate? That’s the world we live in: one of instant access and constant updates, of smart phones, of facebook and twitter. I photograph my (almost) each and every meal and write about my each and every workout because the point of my blog is to write about a lifestyle. If I’m only posting about half of my week’s workouts, I’m only telling half the story. To call that obsessive, in my opinion, is to not fully understand the immediacy of today’s society, which is precisely the context within which blogging became relevant.

However, I’m actually getting away from my point. The implication that the overall healthy living community, supposedly led by “the big six” (which, by the way, is a term I certainly had never heard or used before, despite my loyal readership of all six blogs), is a proponent of disordered eating is extremely and ignorantly offensive.

Really, though, it’s not going to take a genius of a Marie Claire reader to see how slanted the article is and how completely wrong it is. All any interested reader has to do is to go visit the blogs listed, and they’ll see what most of us see: that these bloggers are strong, inspiring women who are, in fact, proponents of extremely healthy and balanced lifestyles.

I think it’s pretty obvious that the “journalist” who wrote this article is someone who desperately wanted a controversial article; someone who was willing to throw others under the bus, no matter how falsely represented, in order to advance her own career.

I’d like to go ahead spin this situation into a positive one by using this article as an opportunity to thank some of the bloggers who have enhanced and inspired my own healthy lifestyle.

Meghann (one of the “big six”) and Monica are two bloggers that I can honestly say are the reason I run. This activity, which has taught me so much about my own capabilities, which has become my new favorite thing, and which has given me new goals to pursue, is one that I can trace directly back to the inspiration I found in their personal running journeys.

Jenna (another of the so-called “big six”) has inspired me with her gorgeous writing and photography and her dedication to good food. She shares beautiful stories about her culinary school experience, snippets of her exciting life, recaps of her foodie experiences, and even her literary prowess. She makes me want to savor every bite that passes my lips and every moment in my day-to-day life. She makes me want to try new things.

Sarah, as I have mentioned before, has given me so much inspiration for how I want to raise the children I hope to someday have. I so admire the way in which she is raising her girls to have positive self-images and positive relationships with food. She is also, by the way, hilarious.

Allie and Julie have, even though it’s silly, reminded me that it’s okay to dip my finger in the peanut butter jar. In other words, they remind us to simply have fun with and enjoy the food we eat! I don’t hear any self-loathing or calorie counting here.

Caitlin (yet another of the “big six”) started an entire movement about loving and appreciating ourselves. It’s swept the country and has made countless women feel empowered. Enough. Said.

Gina has taught me about a variety of different eatingΒ  and lifestyles – including raw and vegan – while never once making me feel bad about making choices other than the ones that work for her. She encourages balance and true comfort with personal life choices and I find that incredibly motivating. She is also one of the most absolutely positive forces out there in the blog world and I love reading her posts because of her happy outlook.

Heather has taught me, amongst so many other things, not to fear fats. This is now a part of my lifestyle that I encourage to other people. Good fats are good for us. They help us absorb nutrients. I’m sure I’ll write more on this at another time.

The other Heather (another “big six”-er) reminds me most of myself, and it’s really nice to see a girl out there who’s just living her journey, one day at a time. Plus, reading about her path to marriage is pretty fun, too! I think it’s almost funny how deeply her words were taken out of context. Funny… if it weren’t so offensive and frustrating.

Rachel reminds me that we all have to be ourselves, whether people like it or not. Her life lessons are words to live by – and they’re fun to read, at that.

Tina, Kath (the last two of the “big six”) and Emily motivate me, on a daily basis, to explore new and exciting ways to prepare my food. Their uses of whole and healthy foods in an incredible and thoughtful variety of delicious recipes has actually sculpted the way I eat today.

… and I’d say I lead a pretty healthy, balanced, and truly happy lifestyle. There is literally nothing about how I live that I would consider to be “disordered.”

So thanks, Marie Claire, but no thanks. No thanks especially to your “related articles,” as linked to on the article in question. No thanks to your “Girl’s Guide to Detoxing,” (my liver does that for me, thanksverymuch), no thanks to your “Your Body Makeover: Virtual Weight Loss Tool” (“What would you look like if you lost ten pounds?”), and no thanks to your “From Fat To Fitness Blog(oh, THE IRONY).

I think I’ll just stick with my blog roll.

11 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

11 responses to “My Take

  1. Good post. I think the concept of documenting a lifestyle puts the blogging world in context . It may be obsessive to some to blog about every meal, every workout, etc..but it is documenting a healthful lifestyle so that others can adapt it to their own lives. I have learned a lot through the blog world.

  2. Mark

    Well gee tell us how you really feel πŸ˜‰

    That’s the first thing any legitimate nutritionist, trainer, or doctor says: The most helpful and effective tool for any diet, exercise regimen, or training schedule is a daily journal to track your progress.

    Hello MC, get a clue!

  3. Great post! Thanks for calling out the hypocrisy of MC. I rarely read “woman’s magazines” because I don’t think they really benefit women. Their treatment of some of my favorite bloggers is upsetting and further reinforces my desire not to read woman’s magazines.

  4. Love this! You mentioned so many of my favorites πŸ™‚

    I’ll stick to my blog roll too!

  5. Thank you so much for the mention. I continue to be inspired by so many in this community as well. Like my perspective on the world in general, I choose to believe there is far more good than bad. And sometimes a good laugh is all you need.

    Marie Claire is poop. And trust me, I know poop.

  6. gina (fitnessista)

    thank you so much for the lovely shout out ❀
    xoxo

  7. Thanks πŸ™‚ There is much more good than bad to healthy living blogs and today we really needed to be reminded.

  8. Katilin,
    I was honored to be included in this post – thank you so much, and honestly, it was so refreshing to read. You definitely turned a negative into a positive, and I found your words to be inspiring. Thanks for sharing. Love, Heab πŸ™‚

  9. Thanks girl! So happy to hear I’ve helped along the way. Sounds like you’ve had an amazing journey yourself. πŸ™‚

  10. thank you so much for thinking of me and including me in your post, kaitlin. it really made me smile. πŸ™‚ i, too, gain so much from reading healthy living blogs. i know they inspire me and enrich my life every day.

  11. Jodi

    I agree with you wholeheatedly. I read several food/lifestyle/running blogs daily (including KWH!) and they continually INSPIRE me to continue my healthy way of living, give me fabulous ideas for everyday staples (overnight oats!) and make me feel like I am part of a bigger movement and community. Marie Claire promotes a poor body image for young women and is only useful for kindling πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

