BBQ Stuffed Mushrooms

Dinner last night was made entirely on a whim.

My weekly (big) trip to the supermarket (okay, okay, Trader Joe’s) this past weekend was one of those dangerous trips for which I had planned absolutely nothing and which subsequently resulted in me buying far too much. As such, I drove home yesterday almost overwhelmed at my many options and couldn’t decide upon anything to make. One thing I was sure of, though, was that I had a lot of fresh produce that I wanted to start using.

I hate throwing out produce that’s gone bad.

So, after standing in front of the refrigerator for a minute or so, staring at said produce, I came up with a recipe for BBQ Stuffed Mushrooms.

It’s a keeper! And it’s ridiculously simple, too.

(Take that, previous lentil recipe attempt fail.)

I also had roasted green beans on the side. They were just as simple – I sprayed two big handfuls (for two servings) of fresh green beans with olive oil, sprinkled them with ground pepper and sea salt and roasted them at 400 degrees for 20 minutes alongside the mushrooms.

They were the perfect side dish.

BBQ Stuffed Mushrooms

makes 2 servings

Ingredients:

  • six small stuffing portobello mushrooms  (I still don’t know how to spell that word)
  • 1 cup cooked lentils (as usual, I used the TJ’s kind)
  • 1 1/2 tbs smoky/ sweet BBQ sauce (as always, I encourage a low sugar variety. I used Annie’s)
  • chili powder to taste (I’d say I used 3 dashes?)
  • 1 dash cayenne pepper (Or more, if you can handle it. I can’t.)
  • ~ 2 tbs shredded low fat cheddar cheese (but really, use as much as you want)

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Grease a pan with cooking spray (I used olive oil spray).

Prepare the mushrooms by rinsing them and cutting the stems out. Place them in the pan, cap-side down.

In a mixing bowl, toss the lentils with the BBQ sauce, chili powder and cayenne pepper.

(Try not to eat the lentil mixture. Probably fail.)

Stuff the mushroom caps with the (remaining) lentil mixture, evenly distributing the mixture across all six caps.

Top with cheese.

Roast for 20 minutes at 400 degrees.

I loved the combination of flavors here!

Updated 10/7/10: I’ve added this to The Nourishing Gourmet’s Pennywise Platter Thursday. Check it out for other great recipes!

3 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

3 responses to “BBQ Stuffed Mushrooms

  1. YUM!!! These sound and look really tasty!

  2. Becca Smith

    These look delicious; I’m definitely going to try them out! (It can be spelled portabella or portobello.) 😀

Leave a Reply

