Long Run for a Tuesday

Today just kind of got away from me! I don’t know where the day went.

I have been absolutely starving today. I think that this morning’s 5.35 mile run – the furthest I’ve ever run on a weekday before! – might have something to do with it. 😉

I also totally wanted a nap today… something I never, ever crave!

Speaking of cravings, I have really been craving waffles lately, especially after runs. I haven’t had waffles in years, so it – at first – took me by surprise. Today, though, I laughed when I realized that the smell of waffles wafts out of many of the windows I run by in the morning. Funny. That would explain it!

I came thisclose to driving to the supermarket after this morning’s run to pick up some waffles, but I managed to convince myself to be excited for the breakfast I had planned: a smoothie.

Even though the run was cold (60 degrees-ish), this morning’s SIAB still felt pretty refreshing.

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • big (really big this morning) handful fresh baby spinach
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tbs nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein powder
  • 1/3 frozen banana
  • ~1/2 cup frozen berries (strawberries, raspberries, blueberries & blackberries)

On top:

  • ~2/3 tbs warmed coconut butter
  • handful Go Lean Crunch! Honey Almond Flax

Lunch was pretty simple – leftovers from last night’s dinner of BBQ Stuffed Mushrooms and green beans, plus a handful of Wheat Thins (because I tend to need more food a lunchtime than for dinner).

With a pear for dessert…

I’m out of adora disks… and I missed them this afternoon! I have to say, I’ve gotten used to a little dark chocolate after every lunch.

I really enjoyed snack today: snow peas and a string cheese. I like having veggies in the afternoon. I think if I work on doing this more often, I might curb my sweet tooth after dinner? Or that’s just total wishful thinking.

At first, I was bummed because I felt like this wasn’t a very filling snack. Just an hour after finishing it, I was hungry again! But really, as I mentioned earlier, I was really hungry all day. It took me forever to realize why, but then I remembered I had that long run this morning.

Running makes me hungrier than usual. Plain and simple.

I’ve actually gained a little bit of weight since I started running, and I’m pretty sure that’s why.  I just end up eating more calories (I’m assuming), more carbs (for sure) and more sodium (by far) on run days. I’ve also cut my strength training, which has likely also contributed to this. I don’t know if I should care enough to do something about this situation? I’ve mentioned before that I’m comfortable with my weight but I also know that every extra pound makes running harder. Seems like an unbreakable cycle, though, doesn’t it? Hmm.

Thoughts from runners? Is this normal?

For now, I’m just focusing on fewer BLTs, a term I’ve learned from Monica to mean “bites, licks and tastes.” I’m a big “handful” girl – a handful of this, a handful of that. Those add up!

Anyway, speaking of weight and weight loss, I’m watching “The Biggest Loser” now… time to get back to that! I have such an addiction to this show.

Tuesday Morning Workout

5.35 mile run in 1:03:40, giving me an 11:54 pace

Not too shabby, considering the hills I’m now incorporating!

However, my legs are tired today. I’m really hoping to make it to the gym tomorrow for boot camp, but I’m not going to push my legs if they need a rest day.

6 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

6 responses to “Long Run for a Tuesday

  1. I gained when I started running too. It drives me nuts. I try to fuel on more protein, that usually helps me snack less!

  2. I think gaining when your training is somewhat common. I haven’t gained, but I certainly haven’t lost any more. I have ‘firmed up’ a lot. I try to watch my food intake on non long run days.

  3. I can’t find the article, but last year I read that because women are designed to carry babies and such, our bodies are designed to hold on to fat as long as possible and that is why, when we work out more, we want to eat more. (more so than men) Our bodies simply don’t want to get rid of fat.

    Now, no women needed a NYTimes article to tell them that! But it was interesting to see the biological reasons why we get so hungry when we work out.

    Me personally, I get more hungry when I strength train. But everybody’s body is different. Your increased hunger could also be from dehydration.

    Either way congrats on keeping up so well with your running! You’ll be amazed at how the 5 or 6 miles that use to seem impossible, now seen like nothing out of the ordinary.

  4. Do you drink more water when you run? Your weight gain could be water weight.

    It could also be muscle weight from all those new muscles I’m sure you’re building.

    Do your clothes still fit the same? I would worry less about the number and more about the way you feel in your body (as I’m sure you already do) and I wouldn’t worry about the weight gain. Even if it is due to eating more food, you DO need more energy when you’re outputting more energy.

    You obviously have a healthy lifestyle and that’s more importance than the number on the back of your jeans.

Leave a Reply

