Lunch Debacle

As you may or may not have gathered from the title, lunch was kind of a debacle.

See, I had prepared this delicious salad a couple of days ago, but I kept putting it off in favor of other lunches. Today, however, I was pretty excited about digging in.

Sadly, a few bites in, I had a sneaking suspicion that part of it – the mushrooms, at least – had gone bad. I’m a “better safe than sorry” kind of girl, so I sadly deposited my yummy and veggie-filled salad in the trash (I’m still kind of bummed out about it) and headed to the kitchen to make something out of the food that our office kindly offers.

At this point, I was feeling kind of blah about lunch, so I just threw some low sodium turkey and a piece of cheddar cheese on an English muffin, threw it all in the toaster oven until the cheese melted, topped it with some fresh (okay, questionable) baby spinach, and called it a day.

The good news is, melty-gooey (that’s the technical term, FYI) cheese makes everything better.

So I soon (mostly) forgot about my salad woes.

Finished it all off with an apple.

I ❤ honeycrisps!

I have frustrating news, too. Well, it’s frustrating news for me. I’m pretty sure you won’t really care. I found out this morning that my favorite fitness instructor will no longer be teaching boot camp. Seriously, I’m kind of pissed. My old favorite instructor moved away, which, you know, is an understandable enough reason to stop teaching the class. But we then spent two months in limbo with crappy teachers as the gym looked for a good enough replacement. We finally got her and have had her for about three months… and now we’re losing her, too!

Hmmph.

To top it all off, this morning’s class – our last with her – was quite possibly our best yet.

I’m pretty mad at my gym right now.

Anyway.

Wednesday Morning Workout

5 minute elliptical warm up

45 minutes butt-kicking boot camp

35 minutes elliptical (30 min high intensity + 5 min cool down… you know the drill)

I might – might – take tomorrow off from working out. At the moment, I’m thinking I probably should… my legs are really tired from yesterday’s run and this morning’s leg-intense class….

But I’m stubborn. I really want to run tomorrow.

I won’t be stupid, though. We’ll see how I feel when I wake up.

Finally, I want to leave you with a few links I’ve come across in the past couple of weeks that I found interesting (but, you know, it’s not my content, so the opinions stated in them are not necessarily mine):

From nytimes.com: Told to Eat Its Vegetables, America Orders Fries

From Summer Tomato.com: 10 Reasons Dieting is Idiotic

From Time.com: Do Parents Discriminate Against Their Own Chubby Children?

From Self.com: Was Lindsay Lohan Under Too Much Pressure to Be Perfect?

And, two entirely different kinds of links (and way more fun than the links above):

How to Freeze Cookie Dough (from goodLife {eats})

What the F*** Should I Make For Dinner?

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

2 responses to “Lunch Debacle

  1. I agree. Cheese does make everything better and backup sandwich looks like it was pretty delicious. Sorry about the instructor leaving. I hope they find a replacement soon!

  2. I hate when things go bad before getting to enjoy them. Thank goodness your work place had back up options. And instructors make the class so I would be super frustrated too!

Leave a Reply

