Rainy Day Breakfast

I love the rain.

Seriously, I love it. It’s my favorite weather, especially now that it’s become so scarce for me since I decided to live in a part of the country that considers rain to be a foreign element. My love for rainy days is only enhanced by the addition of thunder and lightening. On those days, I’m positively thrilled.

Today, however, the rain is making me cranky. Not because I don’t like it, but because I’m sad that it’s pouring outside and I’m in an office, away from windows… and not reading in my bed with the curtains wide open. That is what I want to be doing.

With a pumpkin spice latte by my side, thankyouverymuch.

Anyway.

In brighter news, I discovered a new favorite food this morning: No-Bake Baked Oatmeal.

But wait, I need to back up first.

Dinner last night: chicken and soycutash teriyaki over white basmati rice.

Super simple – I threw the rice in the rice cooker and the soycutash in the steamer tray. While that was cooking, I browned the already-cooked chicken in cooking spray on the stovetop, then added the steamed soycutash, and let it all simmer for a minute or so, covered, in some teriyaki sauce. I layered all of that over the rice, added a little soy sauce and sprinkled on some sesame seeds. In no time at all, I had a quick and yummy meal in front of me.

Now, back to the majorly important No-Bake Baked Oatmeal. Seriously, this breakfast was one of the best I have ever eaten, and I have Allie to thank for it. Allie is a breakfast genius. I got the idea and the recipe from her and… let me tell you… that girl knows what she’s doing.

This morning, I used her recipe, changing it only slightly, to make a pumpkin version. My big changes were the use of a whole egg instead of two egg whites and the addition of a little Splenda.

It was eggy (in a really, really good way) and pumpkiny and tasted like custard. I want to eat it again and again and again.

Perfect rainy day breakfast.

Into the mix went:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1 egg
  • splash unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • ~ 1 1/2 tbs canned pumpkin
  • 2 generous dashes pumpkin pie spice
  • ~ 1 tsp Splenda

On top:

  • heaping tbs nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1 tbs TJ’s (new!) cranberry apple butter (SO GOOD)
  • ~ 1 tbs chopped walnut pieces

Check out Allie’s recipe for the directions, which I followed meticulously.

This is what it looked like halfway through consumption, all messed up for maximum flavor potential (yes, I just said that) in each bite:

I’m sure in just looking at that picture, you want to try it. Do it. Seriously, you won’t be sorry.

That breakfast, which originally had me feeling a little stuffed, also kept me full for a long time!

In extremely important news, I wasn’t kidding: I reallllllllllly want a Pumpkin Spice latte. Really, really, really, really. The rain has made it truly necessary.

5 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

5 responses to “Rainy Day Breakfast

  1. Seriously Starbucks tastes a million times better when it’s raining outside! 🙂 I love this weather too.

  2. I love the rain, too! And while I’m generally reticent, at first, to start running in the rain, once I’m out there it’s the best thing ever.

    Same for soccer, except there’s generally no hesitation. It’s like: DUDE it’s raining, can we play on the real grass instead of the turf? Because I’m trying really hard to get some muddly slide tackles in. mmmkaythnx

  3. Aw thanks for for trying out my recipe! I felt silly posting something that was kinda like an oatmeal pancake but it’s SO NOT. It’s different, right?

    I wanna try using a whole egg. I’ve only ever used whole eggs in crepes. Good to know it turned out well.

Leave a Reply

