A Half??

Life feels like it’s moving so fast lately that I can hardly keep up. I’m not complaining, though! I love this feeling. I think I thrive on being busy.

Solid example of how awesome the healthy living blogging community is: I went home last night with my mind whirling with the possibility of running a half marathon. I’ve been considering it for a long time, but it seems like such a big and intimidating thing that I’ve continually put it to the backburner of my mind, thinking that it’s something I can do later, when I’m more prepared in any of a hundred ways. The truth is, though, that we do big and intimidating things only when we give ourselves specific goals and deadlines and when we make actual and solid choices to pursue them. Yesterday, I put the idea out there into the twitterverse and, lo and behold, found that there were a few blogging friends that seem to be down to do it, including Katherine and Amanda.

And, you know, I started this whole conversation… so I think I have to do it, right? I need to check with a doctor about my knees, but I’m pretty sure that if s/he gives me the go ahead, I’m doing it!

Wow.

My mind was also whirling, during my drive home, with endless dinner possibilities. I think I decided on at least four different dinner combinations by the time I’d gotten home, but thankfully I was able to settle pretty easily on one.

So, first, I threw these guys in the microwave and steamed them for two minutes:

Next, I heated up a big frying pan on medium-high and melted a heaping tablespoon of Earth Balance in it.

I then threw the brussels sprouts into the pan and let them cook (stirring often), allowing them to char slightly (I love that).

While those were going, I cut up a block of savory tofu (TJ’s, of course) and threw the cubes in the toaster oven, on broil.

Once the brussels sprouts looked good and evenly cooked, I topped them with generous amounts of sea salt, ground pepper and grated parmesan & romano. I let them cook for a minute or so more to let some of the cheese burn (yum!) and then they were ready to go.

The best part, of course, was the cheeeese. 🙂

All in all, I don’t think this took more than ten minutes! Pretty great, right?

And thank goodness for that, because I had some TV to watch.

Is anybody else still watching Chuck? I’m so disappointed in it lately. I am, however, enjoying The Event quite a bit, though it’s definitely no Lost.

Easy-peasy!

Man, that would have worked so much better if I’d made peas instead of brussels sprouts…

10 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

10 responses to “A Half??

  1. I read your tweets yesterday and the half you mentioned?, the view is beautiful. I used to live down south and loved it.

    If I wasn’t getting married the weekend prior, I have considered running the same half 🙂

    If you can train consistently and your doctor gives you a green light, why not right? Go for it!!

  2. If you were talking about the SD RnR half, I can’t do it 😦
    I think that’s the one Amanda mentioned…

  3. Pingback: Confessions « Kaitlin With Honey

  4. YAY! I am going to ask my doctor about my knees too and hopefully he’ll give it a go! 🙂

  5. I fully support this plan! That is supposed to be one of the best races in the country. It you get the go ahead I am all in!

  6. also, I agree, the healthy living blog community is awesome! Thanks for *your* support!

  7. Pingback: Kaitlin With Rehab | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

