Confessions

I ran six miles this morning!

I was very excited about a new app on my iPhone called iMapMyRun, which comes from Map My Run (I know, who would have thought?). I have regularly used that site, interchangeably with RunningMap, to plan running routes or to check my mileage after my runs. Until last night, however, I never knew about the iPhone app.

Confession #1: I most definitely purposefully angled the camera for that photo so as to not capture the most embarrassing parts of my phone… such as the screen cover peeling off or the many, many scuff marks from all of the times I’ve dropped my phone.

And yes, I know I wasn’t entirely successful.

So, anyway, I eagerly downloaded the application, which I felt essentially promised me the ability to run freely and figure out my route as I went. I was excited to not have to stick to a plan or memorize what I was doing. Basically, I was pretty psyched to have many of the benefits of a Garmin, but for free.

Unfortunately, it stopped working in the middle of my run, so I don’t know my pace. Given my fairly consistent ability, lately, to fall in the 11’s, I’m sure it was around 11:45 (as there were many hills).

Fortunately, I was not only able to remember my route exactly, which I mapped out on the actual website once I got home, but I also (miraculously) managed to reach for my hoped-for six miles.

Confession #2: I just sort of lied to you. I didn’t run an even 6.00. I ran 5.97. I’m giving it to myself. Happy early birthday to me.

Anyway, I had a very fun but entirely rushed breakfast (I was running pretty late today) this morning of gingerbread overnight oats topped with pumpkin banana “fro-yo” and a sprinkle of pecans pieces. I got the ideas from Angela and based my mixtures on her recipes.

For the overnight oats…

Into the mix (last night) went:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/3 cup nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 tbs chia seeds
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/3 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp ground cloves
  • tiny pinch salt
  • 1/2 tsp molasses

For the pumpkin banana fro-yo…

Into the food processor (this morning) went:

  • 1 frozen banana, broken into thirds
  • ~2 tbs canned, chilled pumpkin
  • 2 dashes pumpkin pie spice
  • splash unsweetened almond milk

It was definitely good… but it was also both a lot of flavor for the morning and quite a bit of food for after a run. I think that, next time, I’d scale back slightly on the flavor of the oats and have them with a different, simpler topping. I’d also make the pumpkin fro-yo, which was so delicious, to go atop simpler overnight oats. Finally, I think I’d have the oats after a workout that isn’t a run, as runs don’t make me very hungry immediately afterward (but make me really hungry later in the day and even more so on the following day).

Anyway, I (again) got excited about my new table and photographed my lunch on it this morning, as well.

This did not, by the way, help my whole running late thing.

Into the mix went:

  • bed of fresh baby spinach
  • block of tofu, cubed and baked (prepared exactly the same as last night‘s)
  • 1 cooked beet, sliced
  • ~ 1/3 cup sliced cucumber
  • ~ 1 tbs crumbled goat cheese
  • ~ 1 tbs dried cranberries
  • ~ 1 tbs pecans
  • dressing: olive oil & balsamic vinegar

It was really, really good. I’m on a mission to try to create new salads as often as possible. I’m trying to be creative, as I’ve found I really like salads as work lunches but also get very bored with them, very easily. Any ideas?

Confession #3: The tofu used in my dinner last night and in my lunch today may or may not have expired on October 8th.

Don’t worry about it.

Confession #4: After meeting my boss’ completely awesome dog today, I am 100% determined to get a dog and sneak it into my absolutely-no-dogs-allowed apartment.

No big deal.

Tuesday Morning Workout

6 (okay, okay, 5.97) miles in (probably) about 1:10:00, giving me (probably) about an 11:45 pace

5 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

5 responses to “Confessions

  1. actorsdiet

    i was just talking today with another blogger about needing to make gingerbread oats! first, i think i need some molasses….

  2. that .03 of a mile is totally in the bag, I’m sure you covered that walking around the apartment getting ready for work 🙂 Also, those overnight oats look really good.

  3. I need to start making overnight oats. Clearly it is a blogger essential. Also, you totally ran 6 miles. It’s all good.

  4. Sounds like a cool app (and a yummy breakfast). I recently discovered the Micoach application… its an adidas thing that sounds pretty similar… using gps to track your route and then it stored all your workouts online. You can choose running, walking, cycling etc.. if you’re having trouble with this one you should check it out… i’ve done about 8 workouts with it np and in different regions.

Leave a Reply

