Downtown

I set out to run a 5K this morning, especially since I ran six miles (5.97, whatever) on Tuesday, but I felt so good while out today that I took a detour and decided to extend my run.

It was fantastic! I decided to run through the downtown area close to where I live, which I’d never done before. I’ve walked it, certainly, many a time, but running it is a completely different story.

LA, for those of you unfamiliar with the area, is an interesting city. You’ll be on an entirely suburban-feeling street, and then you’ll turn the corner and you’ll be in a metropolis. It’s crazy.

Anyway, until today, I’ve always stuck with the suburban-type streets, save a few busy streets thrown in here and there – but certainly nothing full of pedestrians or with any kind of downtown vibe.  Therefore, it was really fun to run in an area with such a different feel. Sure, I had to field a few street lights and watch out for all of the hot coffee-bearing people (I’d be lying if I said I didn’t think, “Ten points for the old lady!” a few times…), but I loved feeling like I was a part of something.

Plus, I love driving around my area and looking at the streets, thinking, “I’ve run this!” So, I now have a new area down. Woo!

Though it was a cool and cloudy morning (love those), a post-run smoothie was still definitely in order.

I knew this was going to be an ugly smoothie, but I still went for it. I was feeling strawberries and pineapple and that was all there was to it. Awful brown color be damned!

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • big handful fresh baby spinach
  • 1/3 frozen banana
  • 1/4 cup frozen pineapple
  • 5 fresh strawberries
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tbs nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1 scoop Greens & Whey protein powder

On top:

  • ~3/4 tbs warmed coconut butter
  • handful Go Lean Crunch! Honey Almond Flax


Can you tell I’m still really obsessed with my new table? It just photographs so nicely!

Lunch was almost a disaster. I realized, just moments before I had to leave my apartment this morning, that I hadn’t even thought about lunch. I quickly peeled and cut a carrot and threw that and some snow peas into a baggie and headed out the door, figuring I’d make a sandwich with the stuff we had in the office kitchen…

… except I arrived to find that the office kitchen was all out of most sandwich supplies! Thankfully, I was able to pull together a whole wheat sandwich thin and a piece of Monterey Jack cheese, but what really saved the day was Lauren coming through with some hummus.

Open-faced…

All closed up, which is how I ate it…

It ended up being a pretty awesome lunch for something that came together in pieces!

Snack was supposed to be awesome, and was one I’d been planning all day.

Looks promising, right? A banana and a spoonful of Nutella? Hello, happy tastebuds!

Unfortunately, it didn’t really work out as planned. The banana ended up being basically mushed and brown from about the part where you stop seeing the edible part of the banana, down. So, I ate about a third of the banana and also only ended up eating about a third of the Nutella, as Nutella is a bit too rich to eat on its own.

I know, I was just as disappointed as I know you’re feeling right now.

It’s okay, though, because my spirits are still high; I have a fun project tonight!

Thursday Morning Workout

4.38 miles in 52:39, giving me an 11:54 pace (lots of hills today!)

1 Comment

Filed under Blog Posts

One response to “Downtown

  1. Liz

    How do you find inspiration to wake up every morning? I find that when I work out in the morning I feel better all day, but when my alarm goes off I tend to reset it for later and skip the workout.

Leave a Reply

