Pewter Party

Quite a bit happened this weekend! So much, in fact, that I ran out of time to do much blogging and am now playing catch-up.

On Friday night, some of my friends and I headed out to Laurel Tavern in Studio City to celebrate one of my friends, Hanna, landing a new job. As it was, two of my other friends, Ben and Elisa, were also celebrating the ends of their previous jobs and the beginnings of new ones.

Because I’d been thinking about it since I last went to Laurel Tavern, I again got the Sea Dog Blueberry Ale.

Most of us also got dinner. I surprised myself by craving a burger, so I got the Laurel Burger, which came topped with white cheddar, arugula and caramelized onions.

This thing was huge. I couldn’t finish my burger (and trust me, I tried) and barely made a dent in the fries, which is rare for me. I love french fries. Love. A little too much.

On Saturday morning… I turned into my mom. I pulled over at a yard sale simply because a pitcher caught my eye, and I was pleasantly surprised to find that they were selling a whole bunch of pewter at absurdly low prices. As in, their already low prices were at 50% off.

The food blogger in me had a little party. I can’t believe I ended up with only the five items above, but I really only had $20 with me and therefore had to only get a few items. Really, it’s probably for the best. If I’d had more money on me, I might have been in trouble.

I am in love with this pitcher. Seriously, I am so excited about it.

I can’t wait to use these items at a party. I’ll serve appetizers on the two trays, bread in the pretty bread basket (can’t you just picture fluffy dinner rolls in it?), and maybe a hummus trio in the white dish??

Oh, the possibilities!

Seriously. I am my mother.

Anyway, post-yard sale, I had a big day ahead of me. So, I made some eggs and toast to fuel for the day…

Loaded up on some coffee…

(That is not my hand, FYI. Just in case you looked at it and thought, “Wow, Kaitlin has manly hands.”)

… and hopped in the car toward Orange, CA.

More to come!

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

2 responses to “Pewter Party

  1. Nice yard sale scores! Everyone loves a good bargain. You clearly have a good eye. I really love the white dishes you found too..I would totes make some delicious salsas to put in there!

  2. I love all of the pewter serving dishes. I get excited about dishes too. Seriously way too excited.

Leave a Reply

