Double Dipping

As of yesterday (Monday) morning, I was feeling pretty fine, achilles tendon-wise. As such, I decided to head to the gym with the solid promise to myself that I would stop immediately if, at any point, I felt even a teensy bit of pain. Thankfully, I was pain-free and had an awesomely butt-kicking workout with boot camp and one of those great sessions on the elliptical where I remembered to push myself, rather than just zoning out with a magazine (which does happen now and again).

I came home, sadly, to a pretty lackluster bowl of overnight oats.

I know; it has all the promise of flavor galore, especially with all of that color.

I mean, it wasn’t bad.

It just wasn’t great, and I expect my overnight oats to be great. I think it just had too many chia seeds and not enough cinnamon, sweetener, or nuts. And boy, did I miss the satiety that I get from healthy fats! My stomach was growling just two hours later.

But, anyway, in case you’re curious…

Into the mix (the night before) went:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 1/3 cup nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1 tbs (possibly more… they sort of spilled) chia seeds
  • 1/2 tbs ground blueberry flax seeds
  • 2 dashes cinnamon
  • dash Splenda (even though I think it’s bad for us, I still think it sweetens overnight oats best…)

On top (in the morning):

  • 1/2 peach, diced
  • handful blueberries
  • 4 or 5 strawberries, sliced
  • ~ 1/2 tbs walnut pieces

Thankfully, lunch was a vast improvement.

Seriously, these vegetable-packed, no artificial ingredient-based salads are the bomb.

Yes, the bomb. I said it.

Into the mix went:

  • bed of fresh baby spinach
  • 1/4 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1/4 yellow bell pepper, diced
  • 1/4 orange bell pepper, diced
  • 1 medium carrot, peeled & sliced
  • handful grape tomatoes
  • handful cremini mushrooms, roughly chopped
  • 1/3 cup three-bean mix (cooked)

Dressing:

  • 1/2 tbs olive oil
  • 2/3 tbs balsamic vinegar
  • 2 squirts organic, no sugar added yellow mustard
  • drizzle honey

Don’t you just love all of the color?

Snack: also fresh and delish.

An apple with almond butter.

Let me tell you something… that apple was huge. Like, seriously, huge. Fortunately, yesterday was a perfect day for a totally filling snack, as I had yet another workout scheduled for the evening.

As soon as work was over, I headed back to the gym to take a Mat Pilates class. Were it not for meeting a friend there, I might have backed out. Seriously, how people work out after work is beyond me. All I want to do is crash!

Pilates isn’t my thing. That much, I can say for sure. I’m not great with the pace. I like running and punching and kicking and jumping. The whole lying on the mat and working my muscles thing is new to me.

I will say that I was impressed with myself for having the strength that I did, given my lack of actual pilates experience. However, I’m fairly competitive, both with myself and with those around me, and I was not a fan of the times that I wasn’t doing as well as I wanted to be.

I haven’t decided yet if I’m going to go back and give it a chance to be something I can learn to love (and improve at!), or if I’m better off just sticking with what I know. Thoughts?

Except I bet I know what you’re all going to say.

Anyway, I got home pretty late, so I made a really quick dinner.

I sauteed some diced onion and frozen spinach in a frying pan with cooking spray, then added two eggs, parmesan & romano, salt and pepper and scrambled it all together.

On the side, I toasted up a piece of the whole grain artisan bread and topped it with a little butter.

From start to finish, it took about five minutes. Perfect.

Whew! A whole day of eats and fitness, in one post! That might be a first?

And I’m still behind. Sheesh.

Monday Morning Workout

5 min elliptical warm up

45 minutes boot camp

35 min elliptical (30 min high intensity + 5 min cool down)

Monday Evening Workout

45 minutes mat pilates

That’s a lot of working out for one day!

1 Comment

Filed under Blog Posts

One response to “Double Dipping

  1. Wow! A two a day. Your breakfast might have tasted eh but it looks beautiful. The food blogger in me got hungry and excited for breakfast just looking at fruit!

Leave a Reply

