BBQ Turkey Tacos

These are super simple.

Last night, as it usually goes on Tuesday nights, I spent the evening making and eating dinner with some of my favorite friends while watching The Biggest Loser.

I usually have to show up long after the party has started, as I get out of work after everyone else, but yesterday had almost everyone running late and I seized the opportunity to be the one providing dinner for the evening.

Knowing I’d want something quick, healthy (I mean, we were watching The Biggest Loser) and colorful, I quickly created the following recipe.

Note: I didn’t actually end up getting to use the paprika or cumin (somebody lied to me about what ingredients they had in the house…Chris.), but I feel really good about the idea of them in the recipe and I’m leaving them there.

And that’s that.

If you don’t trust me, make them without. They were still great!

BBQ Turkey Tacos

makes ~8 servings (or more?)

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbs olive oil
  • 1/4 onion, diced
  • 1 package baby portabella mushrooms, roughly chopped
  • 1 package extra lean ground turkey
  • 1 1/2 cups BBQ sauce (preferably organic and sweetened with honey rather than sugar… but last night I used some random Kraft one because it was on sale)
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • salt & pepper to taste

Everything else:

  • whole wheat tortillas
  • shredded 2% cheddar cheese (or shredded cheese of your choice)
  • light sour cream or nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • avocado, sliced
  • tomato, diced

Directions:

Heat a skillet to medium high. Add olive oil and distribute across the pan.

Add onions and saute until they start to brown. Add mushrooms and saute until they begin to soften.

Add ground turkey and break with a wooden spoon.

Continue to stir and break, allowing the turkey to crumble while cooking.

Once the turkey has cooked through, add BBQ sauce, garlic, cumin, paprika, salt and pepper.

Stir and set to simmer. Leave for about five minutes or however long you need for everything to heat through and the flavors to settle.

Enlist your friends to chop the veggie toppings and help you prepare the side dishes.

Oh, and those side dishes? Even easier.

Buttered Corn

I wasn’t kidding about it being easy. I literally drained and rinsed a can of corn, set it in a pot, and topped it with about 3/4 tablespoon of butter and salt and pepper to taste.

Okra Fries

Those are frozen, not fuzzy or moldy. Just wanted to set that straight.

These were just as easy. I took two bags of frozen okra and tossed them with a tablespoon of olive oil and generous amounts salt and pepper, then spread them out on a baking sheet and roasted them for 20 minutes at 400 degrees. They could have been roasted longer, if you like your okra fries a little crispy and browned, like I do.

The spread was fun and colorful.

My taco, before I wrapped it all up:


It all came together so easily!

Oh, and it was served with some pumpkin beer, courtesy of Chris.

Pumpkin beer will never fail to make me happy, but the best part of the evening, of course, was the company.

Chris and Claire (twice in just a few days!)…

Me and Amy…

Lots of laughing ensued while attempting to get the above picture. Amy and I are sort of prone to giggle fits. The pumpkin beer didn’t help matters. 😉

A sampling:

Those pictures make me smile.

Good friends and good company… a pretty perfect Tuesday night, if you ask me. 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

4 responses to “BBQ Turkey Tacos

  1. Those tacos look awesome! I love the addition of avocado slices and sour cream. I can’t have tacos without ’em.

  2. Claire

    My first taste of Okra! It will not be my last. Yum. Thanks Kaitlin!

  3. I love okra! I must try okra fries. Normally I just cut up the okra, bread it, and bake or fry it but okra fries sound so much better than that!

  4. Pingback: Cookies for Breakfast « Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

