Tea Tuesdays

It has been raining in LA for days! Last night, there was even some lightening and a little bit of thunder. I loved it.

Monday night ended like this…

(I think the black and white effect adds a certain… je ne sais quoi, no? No? Oh, okay.)

When the rain continued but the sun decided to come out to visit on Tuesday morning, we were treated to this:

In my opinion, a rainbow is generally a pretty good omen. And, in fact, it appeared just an hour before I got some really wonderful news that I’ve been waiting and hoping for. 🙂

I started my day out yesterday with a five mile run, which was neither planned for nor, sadly, a good idea. The good part of the run was that I needed and appreciated the time with myself, and the run allowed me to zone out and really clear my head. Unfortunately, zoning out meant that I ended up running further than I had planned. So, while the zoning out was good for my soul, it was definitely not good for my achilles tendon. I went into it thinking I was all healed, but halfway into the eventual distance of the run (aka, 2.5 miles out from my apartment), my body begged to differ.

Sigh.

At least I got to come back to a yummy smoothie.

It was a Mocha Coconut kind of day, you know what I mean? Plus, I figured all of the colors in the sky would make up for an entirely brown (in appearance, anyway) breakfast.

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • big handful fresh baby spinach
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 heaping tbs nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 heaping tbs unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 packet instant coffee
  • 1/2 tsp coconut extract
  • dash Splenda

On top:

  • ~3/4 tbs warmed coconut butter
  • big handful Puffins

It may not have been pretty to look at, but it sure tasted good!

Aside from the added cucumbers, lunch was pretty brown, too.

I covered two slices of the multigrain artisan bread from chili night with hummus and topped them with sliced mushrooms and one piece of light cheddar cheese split across the two pieces of bread. I put it all in the toaster oven on broil until the cheese melted… and then I devoured it.

The hot lunch was pretty welcome on the drizzly day.

Also welcome on a drizzly day? Tea!

One of my co-workers, Kim, is something of a tea connoisseur. She makes tea for herself daily and often graces one of us with a cup, as well. With this in mind, she came up with a great idea for KWH: Tea Tuesdays! So, every Tuesday, Kim will kindly be treating me to a cup of tea… which means I’ll be able to share with you the tea of the week.

This week, we enjoyed My Morning Mate. This tea was absolutely perfect for the gray afternoon and the energy slump I was starting to feel, as many people do around 4pm. I could taste the hints of chocolate as well as the spices, and the perk I felt in addition to the treat for my tastebuds was more than welcome.

Plus, isn’t the actual tea pretty?

(source)

I’m excited about this new KWH weekly installment!

Tuesday Morning Workout

5.03 mile run in 1:05:18, technically giving me a 12:57 min pace*

*However, I kind of caught every single traffic light on my route (no, seriously), so I’m pretty sure I was actually at my average 11-something pace. If not, I blame it on the achilles tendon.

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

4 responses to “Tea Tuesdays

  1. I love the tea tuesday idea! Awesome!

    My achilles has been driving me nuts lately too. I feel ya. I’ll show you on Saturday some stretches that help. LOL I might look nuts showing you in a restaurant though. You are coming Saturday right?

  2. Heck yes I’m coming Saturday! It’ll be so fun to see you again now that we’re friends going into it. I’m looking forward to learning more stretches. I only know one (and just learned it this morning) and I’m feeling the need to do everything I possibly can.

    And, please, I look nuts every time I go into a restaurant and break out my camera. A little stretching is nothing. 😉

  3. No way, you were totes running a sub 10 min-a-mile pace. Don’t you know that stoplights count as AT least 30 seconds per stop?
    🙂

    Either way, it’s the distance that matters, not the time (but of course it’s hard to not keep tabs on time, right?)

    The tea looks tasty, too!

Leave a Reply

