Are You Superstitious?

I never particularly thought I was, but something today is making me think otherwise.

I have this necklace that I wear almost every single day. For a while, I’ve had this little inkling (which really, I just made up in my head) that the necklace brings me good luck.

So, basically, on the days that I’m not wearing the necklace, there’s a little part of me that wonders if I’ll have bad luck.

I didn’t wear the necklace today. The fact that I’m telling you about this means you probably don’t need me to tell you that today hasn’t exactly been a very good day. No need for the details of that, mostly because I’m sure you don’t come to the site to hear me whine. Let’s just leave it at the fact that I regretted, almost immediately upon starting my day today, that I hadn’t worn my necklace.

Breakfast, at least, was nice.

I made a pumpkin no-bake baked oatmeal to start my day. And today, I really do mean “start,” because I actually took a rest day today to give my achilles tendon a break.

This is big, guys. Let’s take a moment for it.

Although, well, my day technically started at 5:40am when a certain roommate’s cell phone alarm went off downstairs and was loud enough to wake me up upstairs and across the apartment.

No big deal.

I may or may not have gone to his room and practically thrown it at him when it went off again ten minutes later.

Anyway. Back to breakfast.

Into the mix went:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 egg
  • splash unsweetened almond milk
  • dash Splenda
  • 2 dashes pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 heaping tbs pumpkin

I forgot the vanilla and it was definitely missed. It’s a key ingredient – don’t make the same mistake!

On top:

  • 1 heaping tbs nonfat, plain greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp pumpkin butter
  • 1 tbs pecan pieces
  • sprinkle pumpkin pie spice

If only lunch lived up to breakfast! I was freezing and really wanted something warm for lunch, but I’d made a salad and didn’t want good food to go to waste. I told myself I’d love the salad once I dug in.

Plus, it was so pretty!

Unfortunately, it just wasn’t very fresh (I made it yesterday and used ingredients I’d purchased over the weekend) and I only ended up eating half of it plus a bunch of crackers.

Fail. 😦

But, if we were to pretend everything was fresh and delicious, then we could appreciate the ingredient list, right?

Into the mix went;

  • bed of fresh baby spinach
  • 1/3 each of red, yellow and orange peppers, diced
  • cremini mushrooms
  • 1 carrot, peeled and chopped
  • 1/3 cup three bean medley

Dressing:

  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • dash maple syrup

Oh, well. Can’t win ’em all.

I warmed up pretty soon after with an Awake Tea with Pumpkin Spice creamer (inspired by Meghann‘s Awake Tea Lattes with one pump of Pumpkin Spice Syrup) and a big handful of Nilla Wafers.

I’m finally a little bit warmer!

Sorry I ended up writing kind of a pouty post anyway. I’ll be back to my old self tomorrow. I promise!

And one thing’s for sure: I’ll be wearing my necklace.

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

2 responses to “Are You Superstitious?

  1. Yum Yum Yummm I am IN LOVE with pumpkin spice creamer in my coffee…I was going to reference it today, in fact, but then it just didn’t go with the flow. I hope things are alright lady. Make sure to don that necklace as soon as you get home!! 😉

    As far as being superstitious or not, welp, I might claim not to be….

    http://stylefyles.tumblr.com/post/948117955/superstitions

    But at the end of the day, sometimes it’s hard not to believe in bad luck.

    http://stylefyles.tumblr.com/post/352942232/bad-luck

    Betcha didn’t think that question would elicit a double link and multiple paragraph response, did you?

    My dear, you have truly underestimated your fan base =)

  2. Mark

    Oh my god! Your roommate sounds like a dick. You should have punched him in the face. That’s what I would have done!

Leave a Reply

