Cookies for Breakfast

The other day, Mark made these cookies.

They’re chocolate raspberry cookies. And they’re addicting.

He made the recipe up himself and it needs some tweaking, but I honestly cannot stop thinking about these cookies. He made two batches (he started tweaking while he was making them), so one of the batches is very low in sugar, making them almost bittersweet, and one of them tastes much more like cookies.

I taste-tested both batches (I’m a really good roommate, obviously), and immediately I knew that I actually favored the less-sweet version because I had so many ideas for uses of them.

One of those ideas? As a topping for oatmeal, a la Kath.

Kath has introduced me to so many toppings for oatmeal that never would have crossed my mind. I really am starting to love oatmeal now (!) because a) I’ve finally figured out the oats: water: milk proportions that work for me and b) I’ve learned to think outside the box in terms of flavor combinations.

This bowl of oats just might be my favorite yet.

Into the mix went:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1/3 cup almond milk (after the water has boiled down)
  • 1/4 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • cinnamon
  • dash Splenda
  • 1/2 cup frozen berries (strawberries, raspberries & blackberries), stirred in at the end

On top:

  • ~3/4 tbs coconut butter
  • 1 bittersweet chocolate raspberry cookie, crumbled

I enjoyed every single bite. It was basically like having dessert.

I mean, come on – doesn’t that look like dessert?

Anyway, I will hopefully post the recipe, with permission from Mark, of course, once he and I work on it a little bit more. 🙂

The rest of the day’s eats were less exciting, only because they were basically all leftovers.

Lunch was a BBQ Turkey Taco made of the fixings from the night before.

This time, I snuck the corn inside the taco. No okra, though, sadly. I don’t think it would have worked.

Dinner was the leftover Vegetable Chili from Chili Night with Claire and Mark.

I topped it with nonfat, plain greek yogurt and shredded cheddar cheese. I also added extra chili powder, garlic powder, salt and pepper.

I think I’m starting to be immune to the taste of garlic – I always want more! And to think I used to be scared of it.

Pumpkin beer, which was so completely necessary last night, went really nicely with the chili – as did the bread, which has kept remarkably fresh.

Plus, toasting it and adding a little butter doesn’t hurt. 🙂

I also may or may not have crumbled more of the cookies on top of some tart frozen yogurt for dessert.

I mean, what?

Oh, and as for my workout yesterday… I kept it pretty easy, as my achilles tendon wasn’t feeling up for much. I’m actually glad I went to the gym, though, because boot camp was pretty strength-based (but so challenging) and didn’t require me to jump around much. When it did, I just abstained. Furthermore, the awesome new instructor noticed my problem and helped me figure out a stretch for the tendon, so I’m grateful for that.

Wednesday Morning Workout

1 minute elliptical trainer (before I realized it was stupid and stopped)

45 minutes boot camp

30 min stationary bike

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog Posts

Leave a Reply

