Chai Spice Cookies

Also known as “Chai’m Sorry Cookies.”

Clever, right? And, really, how can you not forgive someone when they come up with clever cookie names like that?

Yesterday, I was kind of impatient with a friend and ended up coming off as rude. While I think this bothered me a lot more than it bothered him, I still felt pretty bad about it at the end of the day.

What to do in situations like this? Besides apologizing, my go-to response is to bake (surprise!). And bake, I did.

Chai Spice Cookies

makes about 2 dozen cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 tea bags chai tea
  • 1/4 cup canola oil*
  • 1/4 cup apple sauce*
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 2 tbs molasses
  • 2 eggs

* If you’re less interested in being healthy and more interested in perfect taste, I’d argue that 1/2 cup butter in place of the 1/4 cup canola oil and 1/4 cup apple sauce might make these cookies go from good to great.

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Grease a baking sheet with cooking spray.

Combine flour, baking powder, salt, ginger, cinnamon and the contents of the three tea bags.

Whisk together.

In a separate bowl, combine the oil, apple sauce, brown sugar, honey, molasses and eggs.

Add wet mix to dry mix and combine.

Spoon out tablespoonfuls of the dough onto cookie sheet(s).

Bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes.

Enjoy.

They’re not too sweet and almost scone-like. They’d be perfect with tea (and, how convenient, I have a tea post coming up!) on a cool autumn day.

Oh, and if you’re gifting them like I was, wrap ’em up.

… and say you’re sorry.

Although, hopefully, you don’t have to. Then, you should just enjoy them yourself. 🙂

P.S. – I think they’d be really good warmed, with vanilla ice cream or crumbled on top of oatmeal. They are best with another component.

3 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

3 responses to “Chai Spice Cookies

  1. hahah omg now all I can think about is warm cookies on vanilla ice cream…YUM!

    I love how you fill mason jars with cookies – such a pretty presentation. If I can ever learn how to make normal sized cookies (aka not huge, ahahha) then I am so stealing this from you

  2. Pingback: I Can Run! « Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

