I Can Run!

Oof. I’m full. Like, really full. As in, “it’s Coffee Bean Friday and I’ve had my latte in front of me for over an hour and haven’t yet been able to take more than a sip” full.

I know. It’s a tragedy.

But, wait. I need to tell you about last night before I can tell you about ALL OF THE FOOD I ate today.

Is it weird if I say I needed Greek food last night? Because, really, as far as I was concerned, I needed it.

So, probably to shut me up, Lauren obliged me and joined me for dinner at Daphne’s Greek Cafe.

Once again, I got the Vegetarian Plate, which comes with pita, hummus, dolmas, spanikopita, falafel and two sides (I just got double vegetables).

I think I am having a bit of a love affair with falafel. Seriously. I crave it all the time!

Thankfully, I satisfied the craving, at least for now. I then went home and baked with Lauren while enjoying a nice glass of wine.

Sadly, however, I suffered that heartbeat thing again as I tried to fall asleep.

I think I might have to stop drinking wine.

Breaks. My. Heart.

Anyway.

Back to me being uncomfortably stuffed.

The day started out innocently enough, you know. Well, innocently, but differently. I’d set my alarm for the practically ungodly hour of 5:30am, but for whatever reason, my alarm didn’t go off.

Now.

Remember how a certain roommate’s alarm went off at 5:40 am yesterday? Well, it happened to save at least half of my workout this morning when it went off at 6:05 am today and managed to wake me up. Again. This time, it helped. But I have a feeling that alarm and I are going to have to have a little chat…

So, anyway, I got in a boot camp class (thankfully a good one) and nothing else. But that’s something, right?

The reason I had to cut my workout short? I had an appointment with an orthopedic surgeon to discuss my knees and my achilles tendon. I have to tell you, I have been avoiding and dreading this appointment for a long time. I have been so scared that I would be told I had to stop running.

BUT! Good news!!!

It turns out I just have runner’s knee, which I bet most of you could have predicted (my co-worker sure did), and nothing else. I’m pretty much not allowed to train on hills anymore, I have to do a few strengthening exercises and stretches, and I may need to get special insoles for my shoes… but that’s it! This was music to my ears. I am a happy camper.

One thing I did find interesting: I told him I’m planning on doing a fairly hilly half-marathon, and he said that was fine but that I shouldn’t train on hills to prepare for it. Odd, right? I mean, I guess it makes sense, but that definitely means I’ll have a tough time on the course. Hmm.

So, I didn’t have breakfast before the doctor (no time), other than the handful of Puffins I grabbed while running out the door. When I got to work, I made myself a bowl of maple brown sugar oatmeal and threw in about half of a chopped up apple and a spoonful of vanilla almond butter.

It was good, but nothing to write home about. Which, you know, I guess I’m technically doing right now.

Don’t worry about it.

Now. Onto lunch.

Basically, as I’m sure I’ve alluded to before, I have a pretty awesome boss. I’m not the only one who thinks so, either.

And it’s really only partially because he does really cool things like making amazingly delicious pulled pork for us sometimes.

I may or may not have had more than that one sandwich.

Try not to think about that. I know I’m trying not to, as I’d like to think that someday I’ll be able to eat again.

And yes, that’s key lime pie alongside it.

Go big or go home, right?

Right?

Ugh.

Thank goodness I can run again.

Friday Morning Workout

45 minutes boot camp

1 Comment

Filed under Blog Posts

One response to “I Can Run!

  1. Hi Kaitlin, this is Sarah (little sister of Amanda @ Two Boos Who Eat). She shared your blog with me and told me you are interested in running the Rock & Roll Half Marathon in June. šŸ™‚ We all definitely should!!

Leave a Reply

