Pumpkin Seed & Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

As surprisingly many days have been as of late in Los Angeles, last Sunday was a cool and rainy day.

I love the rain. It’s the perfect excuse for so many things that I love.

You know what I mean; when it’s cold and rainy outside, there are a few things that just feel right. Among them are pajamas, down comforters, lattes… and baking.

Naturally, I used the rain as an excuse to bake.

Oh, come on. Don’t pretend you’re surprised.

Ever since Mark made pumpkin soup the other night, we’ve had pumpkin seeds hanging out around the apartment, since he saved them at my request.

I’ve had salted chocolate chip cookies on my mind ever since I tried a bite of one a few weeks ago. So, with that in mind, and since I like pumpkin anything, I made up this recipe.

Before I started the cookies, I roasted the (previously rinsed and dried) pumpkin seeds, which were sprayed with olive oil and generously sprinkled with salt, at 400 degrees for about ten minutes.

The texture of the seeds may throw you off a little bit at first, but I like the cookies a lot.

Try them! They’re the best way to use your post-carving pumpkin seeds, if you ask me.

Pumpkin Seed & Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

makes 15-18 cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup oats
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup butter (at room temperature)
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup apple sauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 2/3 cup roasted, salted pumpkin seeds
  • 2/3 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Grease a baking sheet with baking spray.

In a large bowl, sift together flour, oats, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

In a separate bowl, use an electric mixer to combine the butter, sugar, brown sugar, apple sauce, vanilla and egg.

Add the wet mixture to the dry mixture and use a wooden spoon to combine.

Add the chocolate chips and pumpkin seeds and mix again until evenly distributed.

Using hands, roll the dough into balls and space evenly across your baking sheet.

Bake for 10-12 minutes.

Let cool (or not) and enjoy!

Sometimes, I impress myself. 😉

Update 10/26/10: I’ve added this to Simply Sugar & Gluten Free’s Slightly Indulgent Tuesday. Check it out for other great recipes!

7 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

7 responses to “Pumpkin Seed & Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Yum! Those look so good. Love the photo shoot on your patio 🙂

  2. Fun recipe idea! Those cookies look really good!

  3. Those sound delicious! Also, I saw you did a 5k Mud Run, which one? I did the Merril Down N Dirty last April, and I’m doing it again this year, but hopefully the 10K. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Pumpkin Seed Trail Mix « Kaitlin With Honey

  5. 1foot2feets

    Why do the pumpkin seeds look unshelled? They’re green when shelled.

Leave a Reply

