All The Single Ladies

Over the weekend, when I was at that blogging event, Katherine and I spoke briefly about the fact that we seem to be in the minority of healthy living bloggers that, well, aren’t married. This got me thinking.

Each of us, as bloggers, have our own experiences, our own lives and our own angles for blog content. I, for one, don’t regularly cook for two, as so many other bloggers (such as Kath and Tina) do. Similarly, I did not go to culinary school, like Jenna and Emily did (though, gosh, I wish). Finally, I also have a full-time job, like Meghann and Julie, while many of my other favorite bloggers have found success in ways that allow them to focus on their blogs and healthy lifestyles in a more full-time sense. While I don’t think that would work for me anyway, it does stop me from having the luxury to create very many lavish and complicated meals (well, that and that whole not going to culinary school thing. I’m still learning by trial and error!).

I love those aspects of other blogs, but I could never recreate them. And that’s great, because I don’t want to write their blogs, I want to write my own.

I live the life of an on-the-go single girl, as I imagine many of my readers do. What I’ve realized is that all of these factors about my life are things that I think can benefit you. I’d like to focus more on the convenient factors of how I cook healthy meals for myself after a day at work. I love my “ten minute dinner” series and I’m hoping to do more things along those lines. I love having bags of frozen or refrigerated, microwave-steamable veggies from Trader Joes for those nights when I just don’t have the time or energy to chop up fresh vegetables. I especially love making meals with two servings (or three) so that I have leftovers for the inevitable rushed evenings and for packed lunches for work.

Plan on seeing more of all of this around KWH.

Last night’s dinner is a great example of all of the above.

Butternut Squash Stir-Fry

makes 2 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbs coconut oil
  • 1 package cubed butternut squash
  • 1 package french green beans
  • 2/3 can white kidney beans, drained & rinsed
  • 1/2 tsp rosemary
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder (unpictured)
  • salt & pepper to taste (unpictured)

Directions:

In the microwave, steam the packages of butternut squash and green beans for about 3/4 of the time instructed.

Heat a skillet on the stove at medium heat and melt the tablespoon of coconut oil in it.

Put the steamed squash and green beans in the pan and saute in the oil, stirring often. Let them brown slightly.

Add the drained & rinsed white kidney beans.

Add the rosemary and garlic. Keep stirring over the heat and allow the flavors to settle.

When everything is browned to your liking, it’s ready to eat!


And, there’s more! This dinner was not only representative of my newfound purpose of making fun meals for one, but also of another project that I have going on this week.

I woke up on Sunday morning, after a night of drinking and eating stupid things, wanting produce, produce, and more produce. And, while I certainly could eat a lot of produce while eating meat, I decided to give myself the challenge of being a vegetarian for a week.

So far, I’m loving it. I think it’s really easy to eat well as a vegetarian, as long as you focus on produce and protein and make sure you’re fueling your body properly, as opposed to loading up on lots of bread and cheese (which, let’s be honest, I’d like to do a lot of the time anyway).

What do you think? Any of you want to join me?

Updated 11/4/10: I’ve added this to The Nourishing Gourmet’s Pennywise Platter Thursday. Check it out for other great recipes!


7 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

7 responses to “All The Single Ladies

  1. I challenged my live in boyfriend to be a vegetarian for a week with me! It really enjoyed it and it challenged me to create tasty meals that weren’t just salads and beans! I think I might do this again next week!

  2. I love the idea of being a vegetarian for a week. I have a ton of meat in the house now though but I’ll try it for my breakfasts and lunchs. To be honest, I feel like I eat way too much meat and not enough veggies already. And I LOVE veggies and fresh fruit.

  3. I could take on the veggie for a week challenge. All the single ladies… all the single ladies…

  4. Pingback: Vegetarian, Day Two « Kaitlin With Honey

  5. Claire

    I look forward to more ten minute dinners. And see how you use your left overs. Seeing your yummy meals always motivates me to cook well for one. Good luck this week.

  6. I’m super single! And vegan! Once you get used to it it’s soooo easy and I definitely say I eat well!

  7. See and that’s why I like your blog! I’m also a single girl with no formal training. I’m just trying to eat healthy and cope with some dietary restrictions (mostly be living dairy free) while working full time and making quick yet healthy meals. Woohoo to the single girls! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

