Creak.

Welp, I’m injured. And I probably deserve it.

My achilles tendon is creaking. Literally, guys, it’s creaking. And, naturally, I decided to google this symptom and I am now convinced that I will never run again.

Because I’m not dramatic or anything.

I went to the gym yesterday morning, after taking a rest day on Sunday, thinking that I’d just do a completely low impact workout. And I did! I didn’t do any of the high impact moves in boot camp. I even talked to the instructor before class and told her I’d be adapting exercises. I also didn’t go on the elliptical trainer before or after. Instead, I did 35 boring minutes on the stationary bike.

In other words, I thought I was fine.

And in other words, I’m an idiot.

Throughout the day yesterday, I realized that I was in a lot more pain than usual. And then I started limping. And then I noticed the creaking.

I have a doctor’s appointment on Thursday with a sports medecine doctor. I am not working out until then.

I repeat: I am not working out until then.

This is going to be tough.

Not even a new overnight oats combination can fix this. But, you know, it helps.

Into the mix (the night before) went:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/3 cup nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • dash splenda
  • dash cinnamon
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 tbs ground blueberry flax seeds
  • 1/2 cup frozen berries

On top (in the morning):

  • spoonful cinnamon raisin peanut butter

Yum. Also, the frozen berries were a genius idea. And they’re pretty, too!

Lunch was the first meal in a new project I’ve started, but I’ll explain that in a later post. For now, I’ll just leave you with what I had.

The night before, I sauteed some zucchini and yellow squash until they browned slightly, and then I added in some cooked black eyed peas.

Later, I added some marinara sauce, salt, pepper, and ground parmesan and romano. I ate a little bit of it for a light dinner on Sunday night and packed the rest away for Monday’s lunch.

This was a great lunch. I’ve realized that as cooler temperatures arrive (and as my office still uses the air conditioning…!), I don’t want salads. In fact, when I’ve had a salad packed for lunch lately, I haven’t looked forward to lunch at all… when, during the summer, I loved having salads!

I do, however, still very much crave veggies. Therefore, I’m working on packing warm, produce-packed lunches.

I think this fits the bill, don’t you?

(stupid) Monday Morning Workout

45 minutes boot camp @ low intensity

35 minutes stationary bike

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

4 responses to “Creak.

  1. oof that sucks. Hang in there. Staying off of it will help it get better faster.

  2. oh man! I’m sorry to hear that. If it makes you feel any better, my knees have been creaking. My PT said it was fine as long as they don’t hurt when they make the noise. Luckily they don’t! They just hurt all the time….

  3. I hope the appointment brings good news of an easy and speedy recovery!

Leave a Reply

