Pumpkin Cream Cheese Swirl Bars

Remember how I made something for that pumpkin carving party the other day? Well, in the theme of the event, naturally, I needed to make something with pumpkin in it.

Or was that too on the nose?

Either way, they seem to have been a hit.

Pumpkin Cream Cheese Swirl Bars

Adapted from this recipe on the Food Network website.

makes about 24 bars (if you cut them correctly… which, clearly, I did not)

Ingredients:

  • 1 2/3 cups granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1 15-ounce can pumpkin
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 8-oz package 1/3 less fat cream cheese
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Grease a 9×13 pan.

Combine sugar, canola oil, apple sauce, pumpkin, eggs and vanilla in a bowl. Mix with an electric mixer until light and fluffy.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and ginger.

Add whisked dry ingredients to wet mixture.

Use electric mixer to combine.

Pour batter into greased pan.

In a new bowl, use electric mixer to combine cream cheese, almond milk and powdered sugar.

Glop cream cheese mixture in spoonfuls across the pan.

Use a spatula to mix the cream cheese mixture into the batter, but do not overmix! You want to be able to see the swirls.

Bake at 350 for 40-45 minutes.

Let cool before cutting! I cannot stress this enough, as this was my mistake.

(Pretend that my bars are pretty and that I cut them appropriately, following my own directions. Forgive me for the fact that I was in a rush and was already late to the party.)

The good news is that even though my bars were embarrassingly ugly, they tasted pretty darn good.

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

4 responses to “Pumpkin Cream Cheese Swirl Bars

  1. Looks interesting to make and delicious as well. That last image made me hungry!

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

  2. They look amazing and I would like one right now please.

  3. Some of the best looking stuff often tastes the worst! I will take taste over presentation any day. And let’s be honest, I love pumpkin so I would eat them no matter what they looked like. šŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: All Around the Interwebs 10/29/10 « See Tiny Run

Leave a Reply

