Vegetarian, Day Two

I keep surprising myself with how much I love oatmeal lately. I used to be so anti-oatmeal! I am officially a convert.

In case you couldn’t guess where I was going with that, I obviously had oatmeal for breakfast yesterday morning.

It was a mix of a bunch of different flavors, all of which worked beautifully together.

Into the mix went:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk (added after the water has been soaked up
  • 1 capful pure vanilla extract
  • 2 dashes cinnamon
  • dash Splenda
  • 1/2 banana, sliced (added toward the end and mushed while in the pot)

On top:

  • sprinkling of chia seeds
  • ~1/2 tbs coconut butter
  • ~1/2 tbs pumpkin butter
  • small handful dried cherries

Yum. It was also the perfect breakfast for a cold morning, especially since I hadn’t worked out and warmed up that way.

Lunch, of course, was the leftovers from my Butternut Squash Stir-Fry.

I actually liked this even better the next day, as the microwave softened the veggies up more and the flavors had had more time to settle.

Hot veggies for lunch, day two: success!

Leftovers lunch from a dinner for one, day two: success!

I was able to continue warming up with consumables throughout the afternoon, as well, as it was Tea Tuesday!


This week, Kim made a combination of two teas:  Golden Monkey Black Tea and Emerald Bamboo Forest White Tea. She explained that she does this to cut down on fairly strong flavors. Even with the two teas combined, the flavor was very strong! It reminded me of unsweetened chocolate and molasses.

Interestingly, the Golden Monkey Black Tea had the overpowering taste, but you’d never know it by smelling the two loose teas – the Emerald Bamboo Forest White Tea definitely had the stronger scent.

Knowing I was going to a goodbye party for a friend after work last night and that I didn’t want to make a dinner out of party snack foods, I stopped somewhere conveniently right down the street from where I was going:

I went straight to the (limited) hot bar and picked up a container of 1/3 brown rice and 2/3 Channa Masala.

It was filling! I ate half of it and felt satisfied, so I saved the rest and I’m sure I’ll be incorporating the leftovers into another meal this week.

Plus, check out the price! Not too bad for a dinner + leftovers for another meal from Whole Foods!

While at the party, I also snacked on two of these delicious mini pumpkin cupcakes.

Vegetarian week, day two: success!

I’m trying to get better at taking pictures at parties, so I at least ended up with a few pictures of my friends last night.

The fact that I didn’t feel like drinking last night probably helped. You know, free hands and all.

In the middle, below, is Nick, who is leaving us for Boston.

I mean, I can’t really blame him. Boston is awesome. But, still – we’ll miss you, Nick!

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog Posts

Leave a Reply

