Pumpkin Seed Trail Mix

Remember how I made those Pumpkin Seed & Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies last week? Well, I only needed 2/3 cup roasted pumpkin seeds for the cookies, but I had about twice as many pumpkin seeds.

What to do with the rest? Make a trail mix!

Now, I should admit, I kind of botched it.

So, please ignore that I quite obviously burnt the sunflower seeds and just do as I say and not as I do (again). 🙂

The directions below, of course, are written in order to avoid burning the sunflower seeds. You know, like I did.

The good news is that I don’t really mind the taste of the burnt sunflower seeds.

Lucky me.

Cinnamon Vanilla Pumpkin Seed Trail Mix

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup raw pumpkin seeds
  • 2/3 cup raw sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup raisins

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Spray a baking sheet with olive oil.

Spread pumpkin seeds out on baking sheet and roast for 5-7 minutes.

Pull pumpkin seeds out of the oven and place in a bowl. Add raw sunflower seeds, olive oil, vanilla, cinnamon and salt. Toss.

Spread mixture out on baking sheet and roast for 5 minutes.

Remove from oven and let cool.

Once room temperature, place in container of choice and add chocolate chips and raisins.

Shake to distribute.


Enjoy!

Updated: I’ve added this to The Nourishing Gourmet’s Pennywise Platter Thursday. Check it out for other great recipes!

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

2 responses to “Pumpkin Seed Trail Mix

  1. Pingback: Some Friday Fun « Kaitlin With Honey

  2. Wow! These look amazing! Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful site! Kimberle @ nurturedpath.com

Leave a Reply

