Regular Programming

I have nothing to report for eats last night because a) I didn’t have any (whoops) and b) I was out with a new friend and didn’t want to freak him out by taking pictures of my beer. That’s a little weird for people that don’t know about healthy living blogs or people that don’t already know me, you know what I mean?

I can, however, tell you that I went to one of my favorite bars in LA, called The Cat & Fiddle. It’s a British-style pub with a very cool vibe and a good crowd. Big thumbs up. If you’re in the area, try it! Or, better yet, let me know you’re in the area and I’ll meet you there. πŸ˜‰

Oh, and what I got? Two pints of Kellerweizen Hefeweizen. I think the name is fun. πŸ™‚

This morning, after seeing variations of yogurt messes on Monica’s and Julie’s blogs, I decided to make one of my own.

This is pre-mess.

IMGP8949.JPG

Kind of pretty, right?

This is what it looks like all messed up (how I actually ate it).

IMGP8960.JPG

It may not look appetizing, but boy, oh, boy is it good.

Back to the pretty.

IMGP8957.JPG
Into the mix went:
  • ~2/3 cup nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • ~1/3 cup canned pumpkin
  • a few dashes pumpkin pie spice
  • dash Splenda
  • ~ 1 tbs pecan pieces
  • 1 tsp pumpkin butter
  • handful Go Lean Crunch! Honey Almond Flax
  • handful fresh blackberries

IMGP8955.JPG

Sooo many drool-worthy tastes in my mouth. (yea, yea)

Though this breakfast was good, it was not filling enough. I ended up snacking throughout the morning, which I don’t usually need or want to do. I don’t think there was enough fat in my breakfast, which would explain the hunger. It certainly can’t be blamed on a workout, since I didn’t get to do one this morning! Speaking of which, I definitely don’t think this meal would be at all filling enough after a workout.

Lunch, similarly, had a bunch of flavors going on.

I heated up one of those Green Giant microwaveable vegetable medleys and one of those Trader Joe’s veggie burgers in the microwave. I just cut the veggie burger up and distributed the pieces over the veggies.


IMGP8965.JPG

It hit the spot! Plus, as I’ve been aiming for, it consisted of warm veggies and was a vegetarian meal. Double score! Being a vegetarian is not only not very hard, but makes me feel pretty good. Hmm…

Snack, a few hours later (and after roughly five mini pieces of candy throughout the afternoon…) was a banana with vanilla almond butter.



IMGP8971.JPG

Especially now that I’m benched, I need to be extra careful about things like sneaking little pieces of candy from the candy bowl. They may seem harmless, but they add up… and I’m not able to do anything to balance them right now.
The banana & AB were good, but what are some of your favorite snack options? I generally have a sweet or salty (or both!) tooth in the afternoons. I need to keep it healthy and want to mix it up a bit. I’d love to hear all of your suggestions! As evidenced by the Vans waffles shopping trip yesterday morning, I obviously listen. πŸ™‚
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

