Happy National Oatmeal Day!

I know I already told you about lunch today, but please, allow me to back up to my breakfast.

After all, on National Oatmeal Day, it would be a shame not to show you my oatmeal breakfast.

Amusingly enough, however, I had no idea that it was said holiday when I made my morning eats. It was fate, I guess!

Really, I was making oats because I wanted to try out two of my most recent foodie purchases…

Into the mix went:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 dashes cinnamon
  • capful pure vanilla extract
  • handful frozen dark sweet cherries (at the end)

On top:

  • ~ 1 tbs walnut pieces
  • ~ 1 tbs Cacao Bliss
  • ~ 1 tbs Crofters Organic Morello Cherry Premium Spread

Heaven.

Much, much later (as in, late this afternoon), I celebrated a different holiday: Coffee Bean Friday!


What? That’s not a weekly national holiday, you say? Pish posh!

I kept it simple with a Regular Soy No Sugar Added Vanilla Latte. 🙂 Perfect for a chilly office!

I also snacked on a pumpkin-shaped cookie, in the spirit of the upcoming holiday. (Sheesh, that was kind of labor-intensive!)

I shouldn’t have. It wasn’t really worth it. Oh, well.

Strikingly relevant linkage for the week:

From the New York Times: Distance Runners are a Paradox for Insurers. (I know, right?)

Today, I Went For A Run from a non-runner relative of a co-worker about running. I found this to be beautiful, inspiring, touching and an eloquent expression of the mental benefits of running.

And, finally, Baby, You’re a Firework by Monica at Run Eat Repeat because she mentioned a Nike Ad that was exactly what I needed to hear after being told by the doctor yesterday that running is hurting my body because I don’t have the body of a runner.

Check her blog out if you haven’t yet (it’s one of my favorites), but the ad reads:

No one runs in my family.

I am not built like a runner.

My bones aren’t weightless.

My legs aren’t gazelle-like.

As a child, no one ever said,

“Now that one…she’s going

to be a runner.”

I am not a marathon runner.

But, I know that no one

is a marathon runner until

they actually run one.

– Nike Ad

And, with that… have a wonderful weekend. 🙂

6 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

6 responses to “Happy National Oatmeal Day!

  1. Jen

    I think every day should be national oatmeal day!! Have a great weekend 🙂

    Jen

  2. Hi Kaitlin,

    Your post has me jonesing for oatmeal….OATMEAL!!!

    Seriously, I scanned through your archives and was wondering how can I convince you to write a guest post for @HiveHealthMedia? – http://bit.ly/9dtqRU

  3. I always love the Nike ads. Also, Coffee Bean Friday should be a national holiday. I celebrate it!

  4. Thanks for the link and the compliments…and my current craving for oatmeal. Mmmmm.

  5. Pingback: Running Amok (and Just Running!) « A Wee Lass in Auld Reekie

  6. Great Nike ad! You can do anything you want to do. That is the beauty of the human body, it can be conditioned with hard work, proper care and patience.

Leave a Reply

