One Base, Two Ways

Last night, I sauteed up a bunch of ingredients with the intention of using them for two drastically different meals.

Eggplant & Spinach Sautee

Ingredients:

  • ~ 1 1/2 tbs extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 sweet white onion, diced
  • 1 eggplant, peeled & cubed
  • 3 big handfuls fresh baby spinach
  • garlic powder to taste (I probably used ~ 1 tsp)
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

Dice up the onion.

Heat up a frying pan. Pour in EVOO and allow to heat.

Toss in diced onion. Allow to brown slightly, stirring occasionally.

Peel & cube eggplant. Toss into pan and cook until they begin to brown.

Add spinach and cook, stirring occasionally, until they wilt.

And that’s it for the base!

Now, as I said, I used this base for two entirely different meals. Last night, to about 1/3 of the base, I added my leftover Channa Masala and brown rice so that I ended up with this Indian concoction for dinner.

It was perfect.

For lunch today, I brought the other 2/3 of of the base, as well as a block of tofu.

I cut the block of tofu into cubes and baked them for about eight minutes in the toaster oven…

…then tossed them with the base and some grated parmesan & romano.

See what I mean? One base, two entirely different ways.

That’s a full work week of vegetarian dinners and hot, veggie-filled, leftover vegetarian lunches!

I’ll be keeping up the vegetarian week for a full, 7-day week, though. At least!

1 Comment

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

One response to “One Base, Two Ways

  1. Claire

    Super cool! I love the idea of doing one thing and making two DIFFERENT meals from it. You made it even cooler by using left overs for one of the meals. Going to have to try that.

Leave a Reply

