Happy November 1st!

You guys.

It’s NOVEMBER.

Does that seem crazy to anybody else? Didn’t it just turn October? Scratch that, didn’t it just turn September? Time flies.

I’m so deeply into the holiday season that… well, I should probably warn you that my holiday spirit starts now. I’ll probably be getting into Christmas stuff before most of the rest of you do. Consider it your preparation for the holiday season.

I may or may not have hung my first holiday decoration item today.

May or may not. You never know. I could have taken that picture last year.

(I didn’t).

I figured it was non-Christmas-specific enough that it would be appropriate for Thanksgiving, too.

This morning, though, still in an October food mood, I still managed to start with some pumpkin. Then again, pumpkin is a Thanksgiving thing, too, so I figure I’ve got some mileage in it. Plus, the overlapping of holidays will probably make my Christmas obsession easier for you all to handle.

Oh, wait! Let me back up a little bit before I get to my breakfast.

Last night, after a day full of headaches, dehydration, and a desire to do nothing but lie in bed and eat french fries and pizza (which I did not eat, but man, did I want to), I decided to trick myself into thinking I was getting to eat greasy, salty food I was craving for dinner.

So, using Trader Joe’s Flaxseed chips, low fat shredded cheese, sauteed onions, tomatoes, and avocado, I made some healthy nachos.

On the side, I had some roasted brussels sprouts.

Totally did the trick.

This morning, I did the other thing that makes me feel best: I worked out! Now, I’m still being really careful, but it was nice just to do something. I worked on the stationary bike for 60 minutes at a high intensity and then did a five minute cool down. I’m happy to say that I feel absolutely no worse than I did beforehand, so I think the bike is a safe bet for me.

Now, back to that breakfast….

Pumpkin Overnight Oats!


Into the mix (last night) went:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/3 cup nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • heaping tbs pumpkin
  • a few generous dashes pumpkin pie spice
  • dash splenda
  • 1 tsp ground blueberry flaxseed
  • 1/2 tsp chia seeds

On top (this morning):

  • sprinkle Nut Granola
  • handful blueberries
  • tsp pumpkin butter

My short workout this morning actually gave me some extra time, so that nut granola was made spur of the moment this morning. After all, it hardly takes a long time. This mixture, however, had smaller proportions of walnuts and almonds (I ran out) and had a bunch of sunflower seeds subbed in. Oh, I also simply forgot the coconut.

But really, no matter how you make nut granola, it’s always good.

Plus, I’m excited to have it back in my life. It’s been too long, old friend. Far too long.

Monday Morning Workout
(man, it’s good to have this section back)

65 min stationary bike (60 min high intensity + 5 min cool down)

1 Comment

Filed under Blog Posts

One response to “Happy November 1st!

  1. I love that you already hung a wreath. I may or may not hang mine later this week.

Leave a Reply

