Election Day

Today was the kind of busy day that, by the time I walked into the office for work, I found myself surprised that it was still technically only the beginning of the day.

I started my day with a strength training class (!!!) and am thrilled to say that I not only didn’t feel any pain or further injure myself, but I somehow actually even felt better. I don’t know if I’m just letting my mind play games with me or what, but I’m really excited and happy that I’m finding ways to stay active with this injury (nuisance), even if it’s not anywhere near the intensity at which I’d like to be performing.

I then rushed home and showered because I had two errands to get done before work. One of them was ridiculously easy: voting! Happily, my polling place was within a short walking distance from my apartment, so I was basically there and back in less than ten minutes.

It felt good to vote! This was the first time I’ve voted in California (last time, I voted by absentee ballot in CT and before that, I still actually lived in CT.), which made it something of a special event for me.

I care a lot about politics – or, at least, I have certain issues that are very important to me. Though it’s been a while since I paid as much attention as I should, I still make sure I vote every year.

The truth is, though, I’m most excited that voting day has come because, come tomorrow, I won’t have to hear any of those awful and negative political ads anymore. I am so sick of those.

As soon as I finished voting, I had to rush over to the place my doctor’s office had suggested to me for physical therapy. The only problem? They chose to tell me when I got there that they didn’t take my health insurance.

Ugh.

So, I had some extra time to kill and a very hungry tummy. Naturally, I decided today was the perfect day for a little treat: Starbucks!

I got myself an Egg White, Spinach & Feta wrap and a grande soy latte, which I made extra special by topping it with a little cinnamon and nutmeg.

I love the spelling of my name on that one. Creative. It’s the little things, you know?

In (un)important news, the barista was a cutie. Like I said, the little things.

Onto lunch!

As I mentioned, I roasted up a bunch of veggies last night, even though I wasn’t up to consuming them at the time.

Into the mix went:

  • 1 eggplant, peeled & cubed
  • 1/2 onion coarsely chopped
  • 2 carrots, peeled & chopped
  • 1 bag broccoli florets
  • 6 baby potatoes (white, purple & red), diced

All sprayed with olive oil, sprinkled with salt & pepper and roasted for about 20 minutes at 400 degrees.

Today, to about 1/3 of the mix, I added about 2/3 cup white cannellini beans and a sprinkle of grated parmesan & romano.

It might have been too much. I am really full.

Oh, well. At least I’m full of good, real food, right?

Have you VOTED yet today?

5 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

5 responses to “Election Day

  1. I voted! πŸ™‚

    The top you are wearing is really cute!

  2. LA county “I voted” stickers are so cooler then Ventura county. We got screwed.

    I used to work at Starbucks and I would DOMINATE those Spinach Feta Wraps. So good!

  3. Jen

    Yes, I voted πŸ™‚ By the time the husband got home, I got to the polling place at 7:45pm, but I made it! I am SO glad the commercials are done and over with!

    Jen

  4. Mark

    was this THE barista? The one we saw at the bucks near the super marker (H****’s)??

  5. Mark

    Also, I have to say it felt so good to NOT be able to vote. Like, ridiculously jammin’!

Leave a Reply

