Dark and Early

Today has been a busy, busy day!

It started bright (actually, dark) and early at 5:30am, when I headed to the gym to get in some cardio and strength training. I had a lot to do before work, so I had to get out of the gym on the early side – thus the very early start to the day!

It kind of didn’t occur to me that I’d need a bag big enough to fit my laptop until I was falling asleep last night and had one of those “oh $#*!” moments that had me wide awake for a few minutes before I realized I could make a last minute stop in the morning.

After the gym and and before this last minute stop, I fueled up (as one always must before a shopping excursion) with a Pumpkin Pie Smoothie.

Yes, you heard that right.

Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/4 cup nonfat, plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • dash ground cloves
  • dash ground nutmeg

On top:

  • ~3/4 tbs warmed coconut butter, drizzled
  • handful Go Lean Crunch! Honey Almond Flax

It was like having dessert for breakfast.

Not a completely foreign concept in these parts…

Then, off I was, determined to find (in 15 minutes or less) the perfect bag to a) serve as a carry-on, b) hold my laptop, phone, hopefully camera and other essentials, c) be stylish enough to have with me all weekend, d) be affordable, and e) be comfortable enough to carry around all weekend.

Nothing like having high standards despite having waited for the last minute.

Somehow, I actually managed to pull it off.

Check this baby out:

It’s huge! I put my iPhone in the picture just so you’d have some perspective.

Ridiculous. But perfect!

I couldn’t resist going to the Starbucks two minutes away, which is a treat on its own, but then I was surprised with…. wait for it…. HOLIDAY CUPS!

Kept it simply with a regular ol’ drip coffee with soy milk.

Gotta love the irony of the holiday cup with the palm trees in the background and the fact that its 93 degrees in LA today.

Thursday Morning Workout

35 minutes stationary bike (30 min high intensity + 5 min cool down)

45 minutes strength training (tough this morning!)

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

4 responses to “Dark and Early

  1. Agreed about the 90+ degree weather and the xmas cups. I also have many over sized bags. One day I will blog about my extra large size LL Bean tote that I used to mutilate my back and shoulders (errr I mean for school).

  2. soooo where did you find the bag? inquiring minds want to know……

  3. 93 degrees?? That beats our chilly 55! 🙂 That pumpkin smoothie sounds perfect.

Leave a Reply

