Foodbuzz Festival: Friday Morning

The only way to do justice to the Foodbuzz Festival is to do it in installments. Here is the first.

I flew into San Francisco late on Thursday night and waited at the airport for a little while until the first I’d meet of my roommates, Raya from Raya Runs, arrived. Sleepy but excited, we took the BART (San Francisco public transportation) to our hotel.

There, our other two roommates, Heather from With s Side of Sneakers and Laura from Backstage Pass to Health and Happiness, were already sleeping.

We woke up bright and early the next morning, however, and hiked up the hill for the first time to find breakfast.

Attracted mostly to the name, we decided to grab breakfast at the Cable Car Cafe.

Wanting to keep it simple but start with some filling protein, I got an egg and cheese sandwich on wheat bread.

Soon after, it was time for an informal photography workshop generously held by Ashley from The Edible Perspective.

It was too chilly and windy to have the workshop outside as planned, so we went into the nearby Borders. We started, appropriately enough for Mama Pea, in the children’s section.

Eventually, a Borders employee (nicely) asked us to move to a more appropriate section of the store: a meeting area upstairs.

Ashley taught us a ton, but the biggest lessons I learned had to do with camera settings. I ended up playing a lot with my camera over the weekend… I apologize, as I’m still learning and I may have ruined a few pictures as I toyed around. In good news, however, you can always head over to Ashley’s blog to see some epically beautiful photography for any of the events I didn’t manage to capture well. The gala dinner on Saturday night (coming soon) comes to mind.

Examples of playing with my camera settings:

The differences are amazing, right? I eventually settled on the final setting, ending up with this:

You can see some pictures of the group at this event here at The Edible Perspective.

After the workshop, many of us trekked a few miles to get some lunch.

Above, you can see Heather, Allie from Live Laugh Eat, and Gabriela from Une Vie Saine.

We ended up at Cafe Gratitude, a vegan and (mostly) raw cafe/ restaurant.

Above: Janetha from Meals and Moves and Ashley, two of the nicest girls I’ve ever met.

We got seated at a very big table and debated what to eat…

I drank a lot of water.

Not wanting to eat totally raw (it hurts my tummy a little), I settled in on a grain bowl. I got the “I am Graceful.”

It was really good.

Even though it’s blurry, I wanted to post this picture because it has some of my favorite bloggers. There I am with Heather, Allie and Emily from The Front Burner.

The whole gang:

From left to right: Heather, Allie, Emily, Jackie, Mara from I Made Dinner, Sarah, Ashley, Gabriella, Janetha and Stepfanie from SparkPeople.

Whew! Back later with installment #2.

16 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

16 responses to “Foodbuzz Festival: Friday Morning

  1. Such a fun weekend! Wish I could have made it to the photo session, and I wish I could have hung out with you more!! I am so glad we got to meet!

  2. they’re opening a cafe gratitude in la, right near me! we should go (and you can gimme some photo tips that you learned)

  3. Awe.. the feeling is SOOO mutual! You were so fun to hang out with–hope we can meet again sometime 🙂

  4. Claire

    Oh good I’m glad you are doing installments! I am looking forward to seeing all that you were up to this weekend.

  5. I’m totally bummed that I missed the photo session and hanging out with you Friday morning/afternoon. I am determined to buy a DSLR a.s.a.p.

  6. Looks like a great start to the weekend! Glad you had fun.

  7. The entire weekend made me want to learn about photography.

    PS…did you hear I am doing the new voice on the roller coaster at California Adventure?

    http://blogs.ocweekly.com/navelgazing/2010/11/neil_patrick_harris_lends_his.php

  8. Mark

    While your chose of grain bowl at the restaurant sounds delicious, I have to wonder: Are you graceful, Kaitlin. Really? ;-P

  9. Ok, since I spelled choice wrong we can just forget I ever made that joke….

    damn.

  10. Mark

    Ok, since I spelled choice wrong we can just forget I ever made that joke…..

    damn.

  11. Warning – creepy comment:
    I am so jealous that you got to meet those famous bloggers! I feel like you were hanging with celebs. Haha.

  12. Oooh, great group shot at the end. It was so great meeting you. Wish we could have talked longer but glad we at least got to chat for awhile on the walk back! I’m so glad you enjoyed the photo session. 🙂 Have a great week!

  13. It was great meeting you! I will definitely be keeping up through the blogosphere until next year! {or sooner if you’re in the area!}

    Steal away! I’m just glad we could recapture such a fabulous moment! =)

  14. Jen

    So much fun!!!! Looks like a great start to the weekend 🙂

    Jen

  15. That grain bowl looks delicious! And funny story… Jason Mraz raved about that place during one of his concerts, and one of the women who works there came up and sang the Colbie Callait (sp?) duet with him.

    So sad I missed the fbzfest this year… definitely going next year!

Leave a Reply

