Foodbuzz Festival: Saturday Afternoon Taste Pavilion

Buckle up, because this one’s going to be a doozy. I won’t write much. Pictures speak louder than words, you know what I mean?

Soon after the Breakout Sessions ended, the Tasting Pavilion began.

It was held at the City View Space at the Metreon.

Upon arriving upstairs, most of us went out on the patio, where we were greeted with the most beautiful view.

That’s me with my roomie, Raya.

The tastes:

479 Popcorn.

Lots of unique flavors. I liked mixing them together.

Frog Hollow Farm pears and cheese.

I’m pretty excited about the swag I swung from them. 🙂

Wine, of course. I can’t remember where this one was from, though…

Alexia Fries. I am obsessed with the Waffle Cut Russet Potato Parmesan Lemon fries. They’re not on the market yet. They need to be.

Some shrimp thing… which I actually didn’t try. I just liked the picture.

Three Twins ice cream. I tried the Mint Confetti. Mouth-watering.

Julie was one of the Nature’s Pride Ambassadors and made these insanely good Blueberry Stuffed French Toast Bowls.

Gina was also a Nature’s Pride Ambassador, but I never got to try her Goat Cheese Stuffed Mushrooms. Too bad, as I would have liked to!

Chanterelle Mushroom Soup from Americano Restaurant & Bar. Amazing.

Two of my favorite tastes of the weekend were beers from Bison Brewing: the Honey Basil Ale and the Organic Chocolate Stout.

Meghann and I enjoyed the Chocolate Stout together. 🙂

More cupcakes from Mission Minis.

Jam from Inna. I think it was Raspberry. I remember liking this, but I was getting pretty full at this point.

Butternut Squash and Apple Soup with Rosemary Parmesan Shortbread… a surprising and wonderful combination of flavors! I loved the shortbread. I want to try making this on my own. Sadly, I don’t entirely remember where this one was from… (probably because of all the beers and wines I’d tasted at this point).

Another one of my favorites: Scharffen Berger Chocolate Maker. I tried each of the different chocolates, ranging, if I’m remembering correctly, from 62% cacao to 82% cacao. I’m hardcore, so I liked the higher percentages of cacao best. 😉

I also tried one with cacao nibs, which strangely tasted like banana?

I also tried this delicious Pear Vanilla Jam (the lighter jam, below) from Napa Farmhouse 1885. You could actually see the specks of vanilla in there. I would totally buy this jam.

Pumpkin Spice Smoothie from Andrea of Andrea’s Wellness Notes, one of the featured Moovision bloggers. I only had a tiny bite… I couldn’t fit much more in my stomach at this point!

I did, however, manage to find room for a Ghiradelli s’more. I can always find room for s’mores.

At some point, it became necessary to take a break and get some fresh air. While doing so, I finally got to meet Lynn of The Actor’s Diet! She was so sweet, which is great because she’s a fellow LA blogger and I plan on seeing a lot more of her. 🙂

Okay. I saved the best for last here.

Annie the Baker‘s cookies. “For those who love cookie dough more than the cookie.” For the record, I fit into that category.

And, for the record, these are the best cookies I think I have ever had.

Ever.

I wish I had taken pictures of my cookies, but I was actually too full to eat them at the festival and wanted to fully enjoy them, so I saved them and ended up eating them sans camera.

I tried all four: Semisweet Chocolate Chunk, Cocoa Loco, Peanut Butter Extreme! and Toffee Milk Chocolate Chip. It’s hard to choose a favorite because they were all so amazing, but I think it might be a tie between Peanut Butter Extreme! and Toffee Milk Chocolate Chip.

Hmmm… I think I might need another taste test to figure it out. I also think I’m going to need to try all of the flavors that weren’t at the pavilion.

You know, for scientific purposes. Purely scientific.

Buy some for yourself (or for me). They’re worth it.

Though I loved everything at the festival, I think it would be safe to say this was my favorite event.

Next up, in installment #5 (sheesh): the gala dinner!

7 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

7 responses to “Foodbuzz Festival: Saturday Afternoon Taste Pavilion

  1. it was great to meet you too, kaitlin! i loved those cookie dough balls too – i snuck some home!!!

  2. It was really great getting to sit with you at the Street fare dinner. I am glad that you got our gift. I hope it is very yummy to your tummy. I hope you have a great week.
    Lew (ashandlewplus2.com)

  3. oh my gosh, you drank with Megann! So envious!

    PS: ordering Annie’s cookies asap. Thanks for the flavor recs!

  4. Pingback: Foodbuzz Festival: Saturday Night Gala Dinner « Kaitlin With Honey

  5. Pingback: Back to Normalcy « Kaitlin With Honey

  6. Pingback: Two Boos, Porto’s and The Deathly Hallows | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

